Colourful hummingbirds by Janet Weight Reed

I have been writing a blog for five years with a different server, but after many technical difficulties, I have decided to move here. 

As a working artist for forty years, I am known for my love of colour and spontaneous painting.  http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk      

Along with writing about my life as an artist, I will also post images that I am currently working on and occasionally watercolour tutorials.

Hummingbirds have always symbolised for me the ‘unseen magic’ in our world, and so for my first post I am offering several hummers.

 

Image

 

I saw my first hummingbird in the mountains of North Carolina in 1968, and ever since have been in awe for these flying jewels. 

Image

I paint other subject and have a particular love for portrait painting, however, it seems fitting that I should start this new blog with hummingbirds. 

Image

 

A Bientôt

31 thoughts on “Colourful hummingbirds by Janet Weight Reed

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you dear Gini…..It will take a while to find my way around this new site, but I can already see that it’s so much better than the old one. I will be l keeping the old blog live, and it will be listed as an ‘archive blog’ in my website:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much Dina…..it will take a while to find my way around the site, but wow it is soooooo much better. I have decided to keep the old one live, and have listed it as my ‘archive blog’ on my website. Thank you for guiding me here:)xxx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      HI Dear Bonnie…..thank you so much for looking into my new blog home….I love it. I will be keeping the old blog live, and it is now listed on my website as my ‘archive blog’. Can’t wait to hear all your news. I was with Jane Clargo last weekend and we talked about your exciting developments:)

      Reply
  1. Carla Evans

    I am just recently getting acquainted with your artwork on fb, but liked it so much when I saw you were starting a blog I wanted to follow it! Your watercolors are amazing….and, I also find hummingbirds a delight. My “thing” is nature photography and I have many pics of hummingbirds that visit our flowers and feeder. I look forward to more pics and look forward to your book!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Carla, and thank you so much for your comment. It is much appreciated. I have been writing a blog for five years on another platform. That blog will stay live and be listed as my ‘archive blog’ on my website, at http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk I am gone all day today, but will take a look at your page tomorrow to hopefully see some of your hummingbirds. I am working on the little book as we speak, and hopefully it will be printed at the beginning of September. I will keep you posted.

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Tony,
      Thanks for signing up. There is no question that this is a far superior site to BCUK.
      I will really get going on it next week, when I have more time and resume work on the large canvas.

      Janet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

