Magical Hummingbirds

From tomorrow, 20th September, my little book Magical Hummingbirds will be available through the products page on my website http//www.janetweightreed.co.uk

Image

Through the illustrations and words, I hope to convey the seen and unseen magic that these tiny flying jewels bring to our world.

Since the mid eighties, when I began my Rock and Nude series,  (see Current Work on my website) I have been producing paintings that speak of the interconnectedness of all life and matter.

In 1990, I started to incorporate hummingbirds into my work.    In this large mural (oil on board) painted for an architect’s building in the United States, I first used the hummingbird as a symbolic image.

Image

In the year 2000, when I began work on the children’s book ‘Cristeve the Cat Finds Her Home’ – I used hummingbird imagery to teach children to trust in the unseen help in our world.

In this image, Cristeve the Cat and the Tiger are guided by a hummingbird. 

Image

In our fast paced, materialistic world we tend to focus on the perceived power of humankind.

The tiny hummingbird with its ability to fly forwards, sideways, backwards, up, down, and hover in mid air,  which are only some of its remarkable attributes, demonstrate to us that we can learn so much more from Mother Nature.

Many ancient peoples believed that hummingbirds were messengers between the worlds, symbolising eternity, continuity and infinity.

Image

In my most recent painting a 5′ x 4′ oil on canvas, I have pulled from all the different elements of my life as an artist, to express once again the interconnectedness of our world.    Note the hummingbirds, and yes the painting is now completed.

Image

On the 26th September, I will fly to Boston for a long weekend with my daughter and then to Atlanta to paint watercolour portraits and enjoy the wedding of a young woman who I have known since birth.    Happy days:)

I will be back here the week beginning Monday 14th October, when I will write my next blog about the trip.

A Bientôt

17 thoughts on “Magical Hummingbirds

  1. gini

    Just beautiful.. I wish you nothing but success with your newest book.. It is a keeper. The finished large painting is MAGICAL.. I love the little hummer on the Tiger’s head. You shine Janet. g

    Reply
  2. snowbird

    Ahhhh…I sat back and sighed with pleasure reading this….yes, the unseen magic. I always think magic should be spelt majic….

    What fantastic images…..your work never fails to delight me. The finished painting is amazing….I’d love to have it…could you let me know privately how much it is?

    Sorry to be a pain, but still didn’t get an email notification of this post, but no probs….I’ll just check it each week. Enjoy your travels and have yourself a ball. xxxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Dina.

      So glad you like the finished painting. I will pm you on Sunday. I can’t understand why you are not receiving an email notification, because I think everyone else is! Yes, really looking forward to the upcoming trip….a long weekend in Boston with my daughter, niece and the five year old twins, and then I fly to Atlanta for a very special wedding and to paint watercolour portraits. It will still be very warm there, and the hummingbirds are very much in residence:)xxxx

      Reply
  3. Tony Morris

    It is a wonderful painting, and so interesting to look back on the old blog to when it started (If others are looking , it was on 26 June Post entitled ‘Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon and the truth.’ Buddha) and it’s gestation to it’s final birth.

    If one prints it out, people, and especially children, could see how many hummers they can find in it! Not just as a game, but as a way of exploring the whole image. I’m about to do that!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Tony,

      Yes, the painting has had quite a few changes since I started work in June…..It has evolved:) So glad you like it, and several other people have said about finding all the different birds and animals with in the image. Now I know I can paint so comfortably using the water mixable oils, I plan to begin another when I return from the States:)

      Reply
  4. ShimonZ

    Your paintings always bring me joy, and this new one is certainly a celebration of this world. I love the picture of the two cats from Cristeve the Cat and the Tiger too. Sometimes we need reminding that there is an infinity of living creatures and things in this world, and that part of the enjoyment is our own choice of what to look for… and when looking around, you are such a wonderful guide, Janet. Wishing you a very good adventure in the states.

    Reply
  5. janetweightreed10

    Good morning Shimon,
    Tthank you so much for this lovely comment.
    I am getting very excited about my upcoming trip…and although I fly on Thursday, there’s much to do before I go. I am sure I will have many photographs upon my return. Say hello to dear Nechame from me:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

