Tutorial 9 – The tree

I am using all the same techniques I have demonstrated in the previous tutorials to paint this tree. Image

Frame 1.  

Having loaded my brush with a juicy mix of Burnt Sienna and Prussian Blue, I suggest the shadow side of the tree….and then with a clean, wet brush pull out the paint. 

Image

 

Frame 2. 

Using a rigger brush and  the same mix of Burnt Sienna and Prussian blue I begin to suggest branches. 

Image

 

Frame 3. 

I now begin to add foliage…and at the same time move the colour to the bottom of the image.

Image

 

Frame 4.

For the finished tree, I add more darks and lights to the foliage and then scrape out with my knife.   Note that at all times, I am moving colour around the image.

Image

 

Frame 5.

This is another example of a tree trunk, using all the same techniques as above.

Image

 

Remember that fifteen minutes a day of regular practise is better than 5 hour binges once a month.

My book, The Apple Exercise, which talks about all these techniques is available through my website at http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

Happy painting.

A Bientôt

 

3 thoughts on “Tutorial 9 – The tree

Leave a Reply

