The power of suggestion.

In these three quick watercolour, the power of suggestion is key. 

In this image, just as I have shown in my tutorials, I have applied juicy paint into the negative space which automatically reveals the figure.     I used the same colours in the background for shading and detail in the figure.    Remember all colour reflects.     The whites are dry white paper.  

Image

 

This quote from Orson Wells could well apply to painting……..

‘I want to give the audience a hint of a scene.   No more than that.   Give them too much and they wont contribute anything themselves.   Give them just a suggestion and you get them working with you.’

Image

 

Rapid watercolours allow me to capture the essence and show the major characteristic of my subject.      

Image

 

Remember fifteen minutes of play a day:)

Happy painting. 

A Bientôt

7 thoughts on “The power of suggestion.

  1. snowbird

    Yes, the power of suggestion goes a long way, I think that’s why I like impressionism so much. Like Shimon, I’m enjoying your work each day, a treat for sure.xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

