68 years young. (1)

Many of these photographs are not the best quality.  They were taken a long time ago:).

Image

My Mother, me in the stroller and my built in playmate, Colin who is my Uncle!    Yes my paternal grandmother was pregnant one year before I was born!      This was taken in Richmond Park, not too far from where I was born and where I live now.

til August 10 143

I was about 5 in this picture with my Mother.

Image

On my Lambretta scooter in London during the early sixties.    I was reunited with Maureen through FB just two years ago.

Image

Having married in London, 1965 – my first husband and I travelled to the USA on The United States Liner to visit for two years!     We went to Key West Florida and then after I found out I was pregnant, to Ft Lauderdale where my son Jarrod was born on Sept 10 1966.

In this picture, I am 7 months pregnant.

Image

After Jarrod was born we moved to Staten Island, New York.   Jarrod’s birthday party in the garden of the little cottage we rented.

Image

My first husband left, which meant that I was a single mother in New York.   Very long story short, I got a job working on a trading desk for the investment banking firm, White, Weld & Co.      I became  registered representative with the New York Stock Exchange.       The equipment you see on the trading desk was state of the art at that time.

Image

Through White, Weld, I met my second husband.      In 1973′ I returned to making art, and in 1975 my daughter Christie was born.       This is one of my favourite family photographs, taken on Long Lake, Maine, USA.

Image

To be continues in.  68 years young (2)

A Bientot

8 thoughts on “68 years young. (1)

  1. Pingback: I was born 1 | Eye Opening Literature

  2. snowbird

    Ooops…I’m back to front….never mind. I find these pics amazing, and I love you on the moped, I remember that pic!!! I must say that I can’t wait for your autobiography…..what a read that would be. I also love your early work and it’s so nice to see how your style has changed over the years, you are so much more free now and your colours so much more vibrant and alive. Fab posts, I love them both!xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much Dina and you are so right about my work…..when I had the epiphany aged 40 (it will all be in the book:) my whole life changed and with it the courage to paint the way I wanted to paint. I know you will understand that. Xxxx

      Reply
  3. ShimonZ

    I so appreciate seeing these pictures and learning a bit more about you. It’s wonderful. And of course, I’m looking forward to the book. What a wonderful idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

