Returning home to UK/Europe.

I returned to the UK/Europe in the spring of 1993.    For the first six months, I lived with my cousin and family in Crickhowell, Wales – or as I call it The Magical Town of Crickadoon.

Set in the beautiful Usk Valley, where the Black Mountains and Brecon Beacons meet, just twenty miles from Hereford and the  English boarder, it is indeed an area of outstanding natural beauty.

I made a home there for 12 years until I moved to London in 2005 – the place if my birth.

In this photograph, taken right after I moved to Wales, I am with my two cousins, Lynn and Mike.

Image

After returning I contacted a relative, Care Weight, who was  a well known English artist and had been professor of painting at the Royal College of art.

In 1997, Carel died aged 89.     This image shows the programme given out at a wonderful tribute to his life, held at the Royal Academy, which I attended.     The painting is Carel’s tribute to Turner as he soars to heaven.

From 1973 until I returned to the UK in 1993′ I had painted under my married name, ‘Reed’.          Carel and I both agreed that it was time to paint using my maiden name,  ‘Weight’.     Hence my signature…Janet Weight Reed.

Image

Once again proof of the interconnectedness of life.     Shortly after moving to London in 2005′ I gave my first workshop for The Fulham/Hammersmith Arts Society, also known as SOFAP.

This photograph was taken at that workshop when I was giving a portrait painting demonstration.

Ironically, it turned out that Carel Weight was one of the founders of the Association back in the fifties!

Image

Tomorrow I am giving another workshop for the same group and then staying with a good friend, which means I will be back on line Monday 27th

Have a lovely weekend.

A bientot

12 thoughts on “Returning home to UK/Europe.

  1. snowbird

    What a talented family you are, I love that painting of Carel’s. Ah yes….interconnected….life is so mysterious at times! I love the photo of you with your cousins, what a fantastic place.xxx

    Reply
  2. janetweightreed10 Post author

    I had no idea when I was first asked to give a workshop at Fulham/hammersmith that Carel had anything to do with it! I love the painting of Turner going to heaven….and yes life is very mysterious. Have a wonderful weekend. Xxxx

    Reply
  3. Peter

    Still reading you daily – sorry to have missed acknowleging (sp?) your birthday. belated wishes from Pete and Lorraine (yes, some things appear to inevitable)

    Reply
  4. kathryningrid

    Oh, I hope you had a magically grand time! I’ve not been able to visit Wales yet, and certainly hope to, but London is a great favorite of both Richard’s and mine and we long to get back there. After all, there are some lovely Turners in the various museums there that we must revisit!

    Reply
  5. janetweightreed10

    Good morning Kathryn…..Yes, Wales is a magical places. I lived and had a studio for twelve years in Crickhowell, Wales, which is in the most glorious area, (part of the Brecon Beacons National Park). The history is amazing. There are four burial cairns surrounding the town that date back to 5000 BC! plus many fascinating standing stones, and iron age sites.
    I was born in London, not far from where I am living right now, and love the fact that so many museums, and yes Turner collections:) are at hand. Thank you. Janet. x

    Reply
  6. Jason Chapman

    Hi Janet. Complete stranger here but I had to write and say I’m a huge admirer of Carel Weights work ever since seeing him and his work in Artists & Illustrators magazine back in the ’80s.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Jason, Thank you so much for commenting on my blog. Carel was indeed a wonderful artist and human being. He is a relative of mine, and I am pleased to say, I was able to spend time with him prior to his death in 1997. Janet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

