The Garden (2)

When we nurture a garden, it gives us so much back….and this was the case with my little Secret Garden in The Magical Town of Crickadoon.

I would sit for hours on this little bench, where all my sense were fed.    There was the natural perfume of nature, the beautiful sounds of bird song, and the visual delights of butterflies and bees as they enjoyed all the foods the garden had to offer. 

Image

 

When the rose petals fell to the ground like confetti, I would put them in a bowl with a little water…

Sitting enveloped by lavender bushes, I was able to experience the healing and calmness that this beautiful shrub gives.

Another quote from Francis Hodgson Burnett’s – The Secret Garden

And the Secret Garden bloomed and bloomed and every morning revealed new miracles’

I had french doors that opened up onto the garden allowing all the smells and sounds of the garden to come indoors….everything was connected.    

Image

 

http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

 

A Bientôt

8 thoughts on “The Garden (2)

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I now live in London, close to lots of beautiful parks and the River Thames, and so this is where I now enjoy nature. The little garden was indeed a magical place to be part of and enjoy. In an ideal world I would always have a small cottage garden, like this one, however, the city now gives me opportunities that I didn’t have in Wales…and so the journey continues:)
      I know that in Vienna, you also have beautiful parks….

      Reply
  1. snowbird

    Oh….how breathtaking! I do hope whoever has it now loves and nurtures it as you did, such a perfect place for wildlife. I swear I can smell those roses and want to reach out and rub the lavender. Gorgeous pics.xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Dina…yes it was such a special place. I have mentioned to you before when commenting on your gardens, how much I love small courtyard spaces…..Sadly, I don’t think the people that took over from me looked after the garden in the same way….and of course this is the lesson. A garden will give us more than we can ever imagine, as long as we nurture and feed it…..:)xxx

      Reply
  2. kathryningrid

    We had a garden like that once, too, and the people who bought our place from us did so in large part because of their attraction to the garden, but I’d bet any amount they didn’t keep it nearly like I thought it was at its best. And that is one of the interesting things about our former homes, gardens and other things with which we’ve parted: they need to change to become the next person’s ideal too. It’s one of the things I love about antiques and used things, that way they carry their history with them. But I try to be careful to separate my memories of what loveliness I associate with their beauties from the objects themselves when it’s time (for whatever reasons) to pass them along to their next caretakers so that I needn’t regret the changes. I can still cherish the things I enjoyed about them without thinking them in any way diminished by being someone else’s now.

    This garden of yours was fabulous indeed! A perfect haven. Thank you for letting us come into your magical secret garden too for a moment!

    Reply
  3. janetweightreed10

    Good morning Kathryn…thank you for this lovely comment.
    I am so pleased you enjoyed the visit to the Secret Garden…:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

