Portrait in three colours

My Life as an Artist (2)

Since returning from Portugal I haven’t had much extra time to post demos and so here is the breakdown of a watercolour portrait using just three colours – Burnt Sienna, Yellow Ochre and Raw Umber Violet.

I always, without exception, begin a portrait with the eyes…..the window to the soul.  

Image

 

At this early stage in the watercolour, I will know whether or  not I have captured my subject.    

 

Image

 

I don’t usually work from photographs….however, in this instance, I was so drawn to the face of Peter Deunov, (1864 – 1944) I decided to do so.    When working from a photograph, no matter what the subject – the key is to use the image as the jumping off point, and to then make the painting your own. 

Image

Peter Deunov had a lot of white hair and a beard, and so in this…

View original post 133 more words

One thought on “Portrait in three colours

Leave a Reply

