The importance of sketch books….

‘You can’t do sketches enough.   Sketch everything and keep your curiosity fresh.’  John Singer Sargent. 

Given the emphasis I put on the importance of keeping sketch books, every now and then I will share the contents of some of mine.     All the sketches in this post were made in Mas Cabardes, SW France.

My sketch books are small – a place where I can record anything and everything that catches my eye.

P1130423

The light in S.W. France is magnificent, and it was the play of light and shadow on this chair that made me want to record it several time.

These sketches are very fast….and are excellent for honing observational skills.

P1130417

Again, light and shadow…looking from the inside out….something I love to do.  Two different worlds.

P1130418

Early morning looking down into the chicken pen from my bedroom.

P1130414

Chicken

P1130413

Roof tops from higher up in the village.

P1130408

Inside shutters….

P1130420

And one of the many cats that visit me when I am in France:)

P1110025

When I sketch, I use a tiny palette, one brush and as is the case in some of these sketches, a felt tip pen….Sketch books help me to stay free, and connected to the world around me in a deeper way.

When I pick up one of my many sketch books, I am immediately taken back in time to the place….all my sense are re awakened.

Click on image to see a larger version.

http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

A Bientôt

 

6 thoughts on “The importance of sketch books….

  1. snowbird

    There is nothing I like better than to take a peek inside an artists sketchbook, and yours certainly did not disappoint! Lovely Janet, so many paintings there!xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

