The Colours of the Spirit

‘Nature always wears the colours of the spirit’,   Ralph Waldo Emerson

The post war London that I was born into in January 1946, was a city seemingly devoid of colour.

As a very young child, my Father would take me to the National Gallery in Trafalgar Square where I would marvel at the paintings.     However, what really excited me were the pavement artists working in front of the museum.   I remember the vibrant colours they used – so full of life and energy.

.P1130294

We only have to look at the bounties of Mother Nature to experience the joy of colour.

The change of each season brings with it a new colour palette….and a continuous source of inspiration.

P1130684

Colour can influence our thinking.   It can irritate or sooth.  It can lower blood pressure or suppress the appetite.   As a form of communication, colour is vital.

P1130306

Colour can change the shape of war….it can heal a broken spirit or sick body.

P1140458

When I apply colour to paper or canvas, I feel a sense of well being.

P1130443

‘I try to apply colours like words that shape poems, like notes that shape music’.  Joan Miro

P1130658

Wishing everyone a lovely weekend.   I will be back here on Monday.

http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

HummingbirdHQ.com

A Bientôt

20 thoughts on “The Colours of the Spirit

  1. First Night Design

    The well-being you talk about is what has surprised and delighted me since I’ve been concentrating on digital art. As an actress, one is in the hands of others when it comes to getting work. With art, I can temper my mood at all times. I never thought anything would give me the fulfilment and satisfaction that acting did but creating art has done it!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you for this comment. I am learning about my fellow bloggers every day.. I had no idea that you had been an actress….Your artwork is superb, and I am so pleased to hear that you have found it to be so satisfying.
      I firmly believe that the creative process in all its many forms is healing physically, emotionally and spiritually.
      Have a wonderful weekend. Janet

      Reply
  2. snowbird

    What a beautiful post, I completely agree, colour is everything and the process of creation is healing. Some beautiful paintings here, as usual, I love the magical hummingbirds.xxx

    Reply
  3. kathryningrid

    Interconnection: yes, that’s the main pursuit, no matter what the action. Every lovely piece of artwork you share makes me feel more connected to you, to your thoughts and images and ideas, and to another part of the world than the small one I inhabit as myself. Thanks! Hope you’re having a lovely weekend, Janet.
    xo
    K

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Kathryn, Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I had a good weekend, and am now all fired up for the week ahead:) Wishing you a creative and peaceful day. Janet.x

      Reply
  4. kathryningrid

    Odd, perhaps, but suddenly I was struck with a mental image of whole battalions of soldiers lining up on either side of a battlefield, all dressed in light and bright uniforms of pink, yellow, orange…wonder if anyone would have the temerity to fight. Just a pretty thought, I suppose…
    xoxo,
    Kath

    Reply

Leave a Reply

