A splash of colour for Wednesday….

My Life as an Artist (2)

Given that it’s August, a month when so many people are on holiday…and life is generally more laid back….this tutorial fits right in.

I am using watercolour on white paper with a touch of designer gouache.    The difference between watercolour and gouache is that Watercolour is a transparent medium, whereas gouache is an opaque medium.        I love the way the transparent and opaque work together.

This image is all about spontaneity and colour, inspired by the beauty of my friend’s garden in Wiltshire.

P1130443

I first began mixing watercolour and gouache about 16 years ago.   I was in my studio in Wales…facing a bit of block…and so decided to put out several large sheets of paper and PLAY. It was during the PLAYING  process that I discovered how much I enjoyed mixing these two elements.

This image is all about spontaneity and allowing the…

View original post 312 more words

Leave a Reply

