All of life is interconnected….

My Life as an Artist (2)

This watercolour is all about the interconnectedness of life.

In the first frame, working on white watercolour paper and using a mix of burnt sienna, yellowochre, and sepia watercolour I indicate the strength of an olive tree trunk which I found in the courtyard at the school in Olhao, Portugal, where I gave a workshop in April.

P1130030

Like so much in life, we tend to see a tree….and think only of the tree!     Whereas everything surrounding the tree is connected to it.

In this frame I add the dark shadow at the bottom of the painting.  This shadow mirrors the darkest shadows on the tree.

Note that using a mix of yellow ochre and burnt sienna, I have made the shadow lighter on either side of the tree….this is to separate the trunk from the dark shadow areas.

P1130032

Observing the whole image, I now add…

View original post 385 more words

Leave a Reply

