Landscape exercise using gouache.

I visited my old school friends Mick and Gail last weekend in Kent, and although quite warm there was a feel of change in the air, and indeed this week all of a sudden autumn is definitely with  us.

I love the subtle change in colour as one season moves to the next, which I recorded in this landscape exercise.

P1140440

I began by using an old sketch.    Remember this is an excellent way to warm up.   There’s a sense of freedom about working on paper that has already been used.

This was the old sketch, which I turned upside down.   I will use this sketch as I would a colour ground…

P1140417

I am using Winsor & Newton Designer Gouache for this exercise.    Gouache is opaque which means it can cover strong colours.       With a wet brush I add some Permanent white, and allow the colour underneath to be picked up and mixed with it.

P1140418

I am working the sky area in an energetic manner – again allowing the colour on the original sketch to blend into the white……

P1140421

Note the suggestion of blue hills on the right of picture and how I have lightened the sky above the hills and horizon line.

I then add light green and naples yellow into the foreground, and while the paint is wet, indicate dark trees and hedgerows.     There is no detail….it’s an impression, and I am working very quickly.

P1140435

Given that the sky reflects upon the land, I have taken some of the Naples Yellow into the sky so that the two elements of the picture, sky and land are interconnected.

 P1140437

Final image.

P1140440

Regardless of my subject matter, or where I am painting, Magical Hummingbirds are always with me.    HummingbirdHQ.com

P1140525

 

Have a lovely weekend.

 

http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

A Bientôt

21 thoughts on “Landscape exercise using gouache.

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I became a fan of gouache about 15 years ago when I was working in my studio in Wales. It was one of those moments of being blocked, and so I decided to PLAY – and in the playing I mixed gouache with watercolour and loved the effect of the transparent with the opaque.
      The rest is history:) Janet. xxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

