The Colours of the Spirit

My Life as an Artist (2)

‘Nature always wears the colours of the spirit’,   Ralph Waldo Emerson

The post war London that I was born into in January 1946, was a city seemingly devoid of colour.

As a very young child, my Father would take me to the National Gallery in Trafalgar Square where I would marvel at the paintings.     However, what really excited me were the pavement artists working in front of the museum.   I remember the vibrant colours they used – so full of life and energy.

.P1130294

We only have to look at the bounties of Mother Nature to experience the joy of colour.

The change of each season brings with it a new colour palette….and a continuous source of inspiration.

P1130684

Colour can influence our thinking.   It can irritate or sooth.  It can lower blood pressure or suppress the appetite.   As a form of communication, colour is…

View original post 65 more words

Leave a Reply

