The gift filled with simple and profound wisdom.

For my 60th birthday, almost nine years ago…….my dear friend, Rosie, gave me the book Buddhist Offerings 365 Days by Danielle & Olivier Follmi.

It’s a book that I always keep at hand, for its simple and profound words of wisdom.

P1130589

Most of us have spent our lives caught up in plans, expectations, ambitions for the future, in regrets, guilt or shame about the past.    To come into the present is to stop the war.  From Buddhist Offerings. 

This is a rapid sketch which I began by sketching over an old painting…one that I didn’t like much anyway….such a feeling of freedom:)

P1130581

True love for our neighbours will be translated into courage and strength.   The more we develop love for others, the more confidence we will have in ourselves.   The 14th Dalai Lama. 

Because I am working over an old painting, I am using watercolour and gouache….Remember, watercolour is a transparent medium and gouache is opaque.

P1130583

Without the rigidity of concepts, the world becomes transparent and illuminated, as though from within.   With this understanding, the interconnectedness of all that lives becomes very clear.     Sharon Salzberg

P1130585

During the 12 years that I lived and worked in the Magical Town of Crickadoon, which sits in the Usk Valley between the Black Mountains and the Brecon Beacons….I studied the play of light upon the surrounded hills.

P1130589

Have a beautiful weekend, filled with colour and of course magical hummingbirds….

P1140629

HummingbirdHQ.com

http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

A Bientôt

11 thoughts on “The gift filled with simple and profound wisdom.

  1. Tish Farrell

    I love seeing the way you re-work abandoned pieces, Janet. BTW have you seen the Alan Yentob Imagine episode on Anselm Keifer – now on I-player? A splendid weekend to you too.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you, Tish….will definitely look at the Anselm Keifer show…thanks for reminding me.
      By the way, I seem to be hearing so many references to Much Wenlock these days:) Enjoy the weekend. Janet.

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      The book is still available….I buy it for special friends and family on their birthdays and to a one they love it. It’s one of those books that you can pick up at any time and find the right worlds of wisdom. Have a wonderful weekend:)

      Reply
  2. teagan geneviene

    What a wondrous, inspiring post Janet! I love how you related your painting to the pearls of wisdom.
    I think my favorite was “Without the rigidity of concepts, the world becomes transparent and illuminated, as though from within. With this understanding, the interconnectedness of all that lives becomes very clear. Sharon Salzberg” Mega-hugs! ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

