Happy Thanksgiving…with some Thanksgiving paintings….

Although I am English, born in London and raised in Kent, I spent 28 years in the States from 1966 til 1993.      I like to think of myself as a Trans Atlantic person, and indeed have celebrated 27 Thanksgivings in the States….and so it’s as much a part of my DNA as any British holiday.

Thanksgiving is all about giving thanks to a successful harvest.

The first Thanksgiving dinner was given by the Pilgrims to share with Native Americans.   It was to show appreciation to the Native Americans who had introduced the near starving pilgrims to the bounties of their new country.        To this day a traditional Thanksgiving dinner has the foods that were eaten during that first meal.

Corn (corn bread) – cranberries, small wild onions, wild turkey, sweet potatoes, pumpkin 

I thought I would share some famous Thanksgiving paintings with you.

The First Thanksgiving – Jean Leon Gerome Ferris – 1863-1939

The_First_Thanksgiving_cph.3g04961

Over Indulgence – A spoiled Thanksgiving – Alice Barber Stephen 1896 – Harpers Weekly cover.

2a15076rx-overindulgence-thanksgiving_1896

Freedom from Want – Normal Rockwell – 1943 Saturday Evening Post. 

Norman-Rockwell-thanksgiving

Thanksgiving Blues – Norman Rockwell’s WWII painting showing an exhausted military cook making Thanksgiving dinner for the troops  –  Post cover 1942

rockwell-cousin-thanksgiving-blues-1942

And last but not least….Walt Disney’s Thanksgiving Dinner:)

disney+thanksgiving

I hope that all my friends and family in the States have a wonderful day filled with gratitude and love.

http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

A Bientôt

 

15 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving…with some Thanksgiving paintings….

  1. Tony

    What an interesting way to present images of American history, Janet. Particularly the Disney’ accurate reproduction of Rockwell’s Freedom from Want- Both examples of The American Dream!? I wonder if the truncated portrait on the wall in the Disney is of Disney himself? Or of Rockwell as an homage?

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Gil….Being English and living in London, I didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving yesterday….sometimes I do when here, but mostly in the States. I have been under the weather for the past few days with (after having the flu shot) a mild case of flu!
      I must say I do enjoy a Thanksgiving dinner….the food is fantastic and it’s an important event.
      Hope you have a lovely weekend. Janet:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Well – almost. I will be 69 in January so not quite half any more:) Yes, 28 years, and I have two grown children that were born there and continue to live and work in the States, along with many other family members, plus loads of fantastic friends.
      I really do consider myself to be a Trans Atlantic person. Hope you had a lovely Thanksgiving. Janet:)

      Reply
    1. gini

      I hope you had a wee bit of Thanksgiving feasting in your day also even though across the miles. Loving your blog and You, dearest friend. ❤ g

      Reply
  2. janetweightreed10 Post author

    How sweet of you to do this….I will take note of address….and delete your comment….and tell Sarah…hopefully will get in the post by Wednesday at the latest. My computer actually went down for about four hours during the day….I can only imagine how frustrated Sarah must be….hopefully it will be fixed soon.

    Reply
  3. janetweightreed10 Post author

    Hi Sarah…just saw you there….how frustrating for you….a week and at this time of the year is tricky. Hang in there my friend, and I will continue to pour a you a glass of brandy in the evenings:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

