Playing with new brushes…..

At the beginning of a new year it’s always good to experiment with new tools, and to PLAY.

I needed a new rigger brush (the brush to the furthest right).    These brushes are called Riggers because they were originally designed for artists involved in Maritime painting, a genre particularly strong from the 17th to 19th centuries.    The Rigger Brush allowed for very fine lines….as in ships rigging. 

P1150228

I saw a deal where I could purchase a rigger along with some sword watercolour brushes…..which I have not tried before.      Anyway, that lead to some playing for my warm up this morning….

First I added some cadmium orange into the negative space.   The space surrounding the hummingbird. 

P1150231

I then played with the sword brushes….which I quite like.

I am still able to achieve the very fine line as I do with a Rigger, but can also make broad and narrow strokes with the same sweep of the brush. 

Like anything, it’s important to play and experiment….

P1150233

Happy Wednesday and may the Magical Hummingbirds be with you:)

HummingbirdHQ.com

http://www.janetweightreed.co.uk

A Bientôt

15 thoughts on “Playing with new brushes…..

  1. Suan Strohmetz

    Janet, you make it look so easy! I haven’t painted in years but I think I may begin again! Thank you. Love your work. Friend of Jille and live in w. Chester.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

