Self portrait from an interesting period in my life.

In my West Chester, Pennsylvania studio – mixed media.  

Scan 107

This self portrait, tells the story of the complexity and at the same time, simplicity of my life during this particular period.

It was 1988 and I was living and working in my studio which had no heat or running water.    I always say, it was the time that I grew up.

I didn’t realise it at the time, however the hummingbirds had already begun to weave their magic.

P1140767

A Bientôt

18 thoughts on “Self portrait from an interesting period in my life.

  1. Tish Farrell

    This is a fascinating, multi-layered composition. I love the amber and azure hues, which to me say inner reflection and questing. And thank you for this morning’s special hummingbird ‘fix’.

    Reply
  2. ShimonZ

    I see you peeking through the portrait… but more than the simplicity, it seems you’ve got a lot of weight on your head… however, I know that sort of complexity, having gone through some growing pains myself…

    Reply
    1. janet weight reed

      Good morning, Olga, – So very true. I learned so much during this period, and one of the most important things was to remove myself from all unnecessary complexity – to keep my life as simple as is possible in this day and age, to make room to explore the creative process.

      During this period, I feel that I did some of my better work…..thank you so much:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

