Letting go of attachment…

A very important exercise I learned many years ago at art school,  was to destroy a painting I had spent a great deal of time on, and had become attached to.   When I say destroy, I mean, to paint over the top of the initial image –  to obliterate it.

In today’s watercolour demo, I haven’t exactly destroyed the initial image of Lilies with Hummingbird, but have changed it.

Lilies with two hummingbirds. 

P1150492

Here is yesterday’s watercolour along with today’s additions.

P1150479P1150492

This reminds me that the creative process is fluid…not stagnant, and there is no better medium than watercolour to express this.

P1150486

I am reminded that the only certainty in life is change……and impermanence.

P1150489That no matter whatever is going on in our lives at any given time, it will pass.   P1150492

I am reminded to live in the moment.

A Bientôt

43 thoughts on “Letting go of attachment…

  1. Anne Theodore

    These are beautiful 🙂 I remember overworking charcoal drawings in art school, and cutting them apart to salvage what I could in a collage. I don’t think I ever painted over anything I was attached to.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Anne, Thank you so much for your comment. Cutting up paintings is another good thing to do…..I often find when I have a painting that hasn’t worked, when cutting it into small pieces, I find a smallsection worth taking further. All part of the joy in the creative process.
      Hope you have a lovely weekend. Janet:)

      Reply
  2. Tony

    I did not imagine that the lilies I brought you would be so expanded, visually and philosophically, to answer the Question “How to Live?” with the Buddha’s reply “All is Impermanence”. Reminds me of a poem I knew as a teenager

    Once in Persia reigned a king,
    Who upon his signet ring
    Graved a maxim true and wise,
    Which, if held before his eyes,
    Gave him counsel at a glance
    Fit for every change and chance.
    Solemn words, and these are they;
    “Even this shall pass away.”

    Read the full poem at
    http://www.paulreapoetry.com/?p=626
    Even This Shall Pass Away
    By Theodore Tilton

    And that, the past (the first painting) is incorporated into the new one, as a part of it and as underlying traces. Rather than obliterating the past (ie by re-priming thee entire canvas)

    So it is with our lives

    A very profound Post!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Tony – thank you so much for the lilies and for this wonderful comment.
      I will respond more later, but am having trouble accessing my word press posts…..Have a lovely weekend – it feels like spring already. Janet:)x

      Reply
  3. olganm

    I totally agree with Teagan. And a good lesson to remember. Sometimes we have to let go of previous work to move on…Have a magical weekend

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Thank you so much for your lovely comment. I think we are all a work in progress…..and it’s when we reflect that we can see this.
      Enjoy a lovely weekend. Janet:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      It’s been a very positive beginning to my year, which has given me a new lease on life, and so as they say, I am making hay while the sun shines….and it is shining brightly in London:)x

      Reply
  4. Peter Wells aka Countingducks

    What you say is very interesting, because it pertains to writing as well as painting. Saying to yourself, “This is not what I meant at all” or it’s saying it all wrong is just part of not settling for second rate, a key ingredient of the improving artist

    Reply
  5. Jen from Universe B

    Your paintings are beautiful, and your words are so true. I have a hard time letting things go, too. Writing has been a wonderful, cathartic medium for me to take something stressful and turn it into something I can be proud of, transform it into something beautiful. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

