Procrastination……the action of delaying or postponing something……

‘Procrastination is the bad habit of putting off until the day after tomorrow what should have been done the day before yesterday.’   Napoleon Hill. 

P1100748

This does make me smile.    Up until the age of nearly forty, I tended to procrastinate.

To make up for my procrastination, I would then binge paint, or do things in great bursts of energy, lacking any real rhythm or consistency which played havoc with me and my work.

P1100739

I would write long letters to people, and then not send them!   What was I thinking????

P1100740

Then, everything changed.     When I was almost forty, I made a personal commitment to establish rhythms in my life.     Rhythms and schedules that would work for me.

The suspect word  ‘moderation’ came into my daily life and with it  I found that I was able to accomplish so much more.

P1100742

With new habits, life in general became more manageable and enjoyable.

As time went by, I recognised that rhythms and routines can and do evolve with the inevitable changes we experience in life….after all, nothing is set in stone.

P1100748

A Bientôt

7 thoughts on “Procrastination……the action of delaying or postponing something……

  1. olganm

    I also function better with a schedule although at the moment I’m experimenting to try and find the right balance…Lovely paintings, Janet.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I find that every now and then given life’s circumstances I need to readjust and try a slightly different routine, which is often quite refreshing. Hope you have a lovely day:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning and thank you so much for re blogging this.
      Yes, every now and then I need to make adjustments in my routine, and during such a period I often find better ways to move forward….I always have to take into consideration that I am a morning person..:)

      Reply
  2. snowbird

    Ah yes….I think we can all procrastinate at times, I am currently putting off cleaning!!! I just love how the colours blend and bleed here….sighs….the joys of water colour.xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

