Walking.

I have always enjoyed walking.

P1130589

When I returned to the UK in 1993 and moved to Crickhowell, Wales (The Magical Town of Crickadoon) I made the decision to stop driving.

This image of one of the landscapes I walked in every day during the twelve years that I lived and worked in Crickhowell, is painted over an old sketch.       I am using a mix of watercolour/gouache.

P1130581

Having lived and worked in the States for twenty eight years and at times felt as if a car was attached to my body, I decided – no more. 

I must admit that driving was never something I really enjoyed, unless on an open, empty road where I never had to parallel park!:)

P1130583

This meant organising my life in such a way that I could walk to everything, and that’s what I did and continue to do today.

As long as I could get the basics…i.e. food and art supplies, I didn’t need a car….and when living in Crickhowell, I could walk to thirteen pubs, all of which served very good food:)

P1130585

Living in greater London, I am well placed in terms of having all my needs met within walking distance and public transportation is excellent.    (of course we do have deliveries of just about everything today, including art supplies.)

P1130589

I continue to walk somewhere every day and find the rhythm of walking to be an excellent form of meditation…often a time when ideas come to me.

a time when I am able to think of Magical Hummingbirds…..

P1130862A Bientôt

23 thoughts on “Walking.

  1. ShimonZ

    I love these paintings so much… and like you, I’ve always liked walking… sometimes for meditation, and sometimes socially. Always taking in the scenery and enjoying what meets my eyes. Sometimes I could find solutions to something that was bothering me. But I used to like driving too. Recently, I’ve been feeling I’m getting too old to drive, and would prefer not to. Either to walk or to find other transportation. Driving puts you at odds with others, and it wears me out. Beautiful post, Janet. Enjoy your walks.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Shimon –
      I often think of you and Nechma walking through your neighbourhood…..
      I have never regretted stopping driving…for me it has given me a sense of freedom. The key of course is that all my needs can be met without a car….and public transportation is excellent where I live. Having said that, even when I move to ‘Marmite Heaven’ which will be part of a small village somewhere in Europe, a car will not be necessary.
      I hope you enjoy a lovely weekend and that Israel is more relaxed after the recent elections….Janet:)xx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Sarah. I can only imagine how frustrating this must be for you at times. You are such an inspiration to me and a reminder never to take anything for granted. I hope you enjoy a lovely weekend filled with laughter. Janet:)x

      Reply
  2. Katherine

    I like cou;0xntry walks but even here in an urban area I can see many trees and dlowers near home.And I meet people too which is important.Love the paintings.

    Reply
  3. mandy smith

    Your paintings are proof of the beauty can be inspired by walking, Janet. That final hummingbird picture is amazing!

    Reply
  4. Vera Komnig

    Oh yes, I also love to walk and enjoy the silence … I like to call it “run empty” what happens during walking and from this “empty” dive new pictures on. I think you know it as well.
    Enjoy it continues to dear Janet.
    On my next walk I’ll even look consciously into the sky and know that it is the same one that you can also see 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I will do the same….look up at the sky knowing that you are out there in the world, with beautiful colours and images filling your mind. Have a lovely weekend filled with magic and creativity. Janet:)X

      Reply
  5. snowbird

    Like you, I too love walking and dislike driving. I only drive when I absolutely have to these days, I loved the mist on the mountain here and as usual your little hummer is a delight.xxx

    Reply
  6. teagan geneviene

    I can’t imagine doing without a car. Although with the troubles I’ve had, i wish i could imagine it. 😀
    I enjoyed these beautiful landscapes, Janet. You have such a talent for watercolors. You really amaze me. And of course I always love your hummingbirds. 🙂 ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

