Capturing atmosphere

I painted this watercolour from a sketch I made on a cold late winter’s afternoon in Vienna.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It was about 4 p.m,, and I was waiting or my friend Helga.      The afternoon was filled with a certain atmosphere, which I wanted to capture.     

Initially the scene before me was monotonal, and then suddenly as the sun went behind the buildings, it was as if a fire had been lit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The orange/red of the sun’s rays initially turned the rooftops into a glorious burnt sienna glow….

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

which spread over the front of the buildings….and into the righthand foreground.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And finally, there it was – the scene before me was now glowing with colour and energy.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In a watercolour such as this, the key is to capture the ‘atmosphere’ of the moment, rather than a lot of unnecessary detail.     

Somehow, hummingbirds seem a little incongruous set against a winter scene in Vienna….however as these magical creatures inhabit my mind no matter where I am or what I am doing….here is an orange hummingbird also touched by the sun. 

1072339_10151767811925396_1863849589_o

A Bientôt

6 thoughts on “Capturing atmosphere

  1. kathryningrid

    It’s fabulous how you make the Golden Hour *bleed* into the image, just the way that late sun suffuses everything as it sneaks around corners and catches one by surprise. Only the magical hummingbirds know it’s coming!

    K

    Reply

Leave a Reply

