Olhao Alley – rapid watercolour/gouache

This rapid watercolour/gouache is the first in the series of Alhao Alley ways. 

I began work on a cadmium orange ground.

Working rapidly, and using a mix of watercolour/gouache,  I immediately recorded the darks and lights…  I use my own photographs merely as jumping off points. 

Image

The final image.

Note that I allow paint to bleed (run) as I feel that it adds to the overall energy of the painting.   My goal is to capture a moment – the moment when I glanced down the alley way…rather than something too studied. 

Image

Here’s to a day filled with magic and creativity.

P1120968

A Bientôt

21 thoughts on “Olhao Alley – rapid watercolour/gouache

  1. olganm

    Beautiful! After seeing Julie’s comment I nearly commented in Spanish! I was going to say I’d love to know how to do it, but just watching it makes my day better. Gorgeous!

    Reply
  2. Tony

    I’m with Peter’s comment about the moment and “that is not often seen [in the paintings of other artists]”
    Your “My goal is to capture a moment – the moment when I glanced down the alley way…rather than something too studied”.
    shows how skilful you are in not being caught by the detail that would come from it being too studied. Looking hard is not the same as truly seeing.

    Reply
  3. snowbird

    Gosh, the ally is wonderfully atmospheric, I love the figure at the end, it commands the eye. The hummer is glowing like a little jewel.xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

