An ongoing process…..

Another glance into an Olhao alley, Portugal. – http://www.artinthealgarve.com

watercolour/gouacheP1160215

There is no final Ta Da in my work….it is an ongoing process.    

Given that everything is interconnected, my creative life doesn’t stop when I put down my brushes.      It flows and continues through my thoughts and actions in all areas of my life.

P1110085

When I first exhibited in the early seventies – I was quickly picked up as a Wildlife Painter.    A reputable gallery took me into their stable, and it appeared that I was off to a flying start.

For fourteen years I painted large watercolours and oils in the wildlife genre.   My attempts to move towards new subject matter were not appreciated.

P1110087

Ultimately I broke the cycle and began a new series of work in the mid eighties.     The point of this is to say that the creative process is exactly that….a process.

We are never finished…rather always beginning. 

P1110089

Now, many years later I am incorporating wildlife into my large oil paintings, which are about Interconnections…..

P1110106

A Bientôt

24 thoughts on “An ongoing process…..

  1. ShimonZ

    Yes, my dear Janet, art, life… it’s all an ongoing process. Don’t we know. Sometimes we even try to fight it. But staying alive means change and growth. Have a beautiful day. I just love your paintings.

    Reply
  2. Peter Wells aka Countingducks

    You’ve actually captured the essence of what I’m guessing is a humming bird, although I could be wrong. The sense of it flapping its wings while remaining on one spot, which I always find wondrous, is totally real. I could go on about the colours, spacing and much else, but essentially I just love your work, which you may have realised by now 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Your comment makes my day:) Yes, the small bird is a hummingbird and like you I love the way they can hover in one place – it’s breathtaking. To sit quietly where these flying jewels visit, is heaven on earth. Have a lovely and creative weekend. Janet.

      Reply
  3. snowbird

    Oh I loved this, gorgeous painting! I think you could paint absolutely anything, I’m glad you broke loose from the mode, there’s nothing worse than being hemmed in….although your earlier wildlife painting are amazing too.xxx

    Reply
  4. olganm

    Truer words were never spoken. Stagnant things rot and die. We have to keep moving, however slowly, in whichever direction, to allow life and creativity to flow. Others will not always accompany in our journeys but…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

