Recycling old paintings….Lily turns into a Kent landscape.

My Life as an Artist (2)

I am re blogging this post because it’s a reminder of one way to recycle sketches/paintings.     

Anyone following my blog will know that I believe warming up before a day’s painting is key.    Like athletes and dancers, painters need to stretch.

Here is an example of recycling an old image by simply painting over the top of it.   I will be using designer gouache because of it’s opaque coverage. 

Kent landscape

P1140440

The old painting, of a lily will be used in the same way as I would use a colour ground.   

I turned the lily image upside down to use as my ground.

P1140417

I start by using Winsor & Newton Designer Gouache – permanent white to block out the background and to form a base for the sky.

P1140418

Slowly I add more colour to the mix, and although the old painting has been dry for…

View original post 111 more words

3 thoughts on “Recycling old paintings….Lily turns into a Kent landscape.

Leave a Reply

