Day 4 – 5 photos – five day challenge – The Turning point – Going Sane

In 1987, my husband and I divorced.   It was as amicable as is possible.    He has been happily remarried for the past 27 years and I am on friendly terms with he and his wife.

At that time I made a very important decision.    I chose to live and work in my 150 year old carriage house studio in West Chester, Pennsylvania –  which at the time had electricity but  no heat and running water.  

I painted this large oil on canvas during this period, which symbolises for me the ending of one part of my life and beginning of another.    I was forty-three years old. P1160393 For the first forty years of my life, I was walking two paths.the first as a creative,  and the second, trying to fit into a society which made very little sense to me.   

In short,  I was a square peg trying to fit into a round hole.    

Walking two paths caused me to suffer from acute anxiety, which I now understand will inevitably occur when we try to be something we are not.

I have always known that once I make a decision, I can get on with things.   As the famous quote misattributed to Goethe says:-

Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it.   Boldness has genius, power and magic in it.  Begin it now. 

Once I made the decision to be true to myself as a creative and let go of all the trappings (such a good word) – that’s exactly what happened – all sorts of events occurred that I could never have predicted, events filled with power and magic. 

Large oil on canvas – symbolic self portrait – painted during this period. 

1146877_10151817077460396_1621469081_o

It took one year to get heat and water into the studio…..it was the year I grew up and although most people thought I had gone mad – in fact I had gone sane….

So many stories to write about that year….it warrants a book, but let it suffice to say that it was the beginning of a new way of life and being and as soon as I made the choice/decision – all anxiety was removed. 

Part of the studio after heat and water had been installed. (circa 1990)….this half was used for working and the other for living.     The space allowed me to work on several large canvases at one time. …which in an ideal world is how I like to work.

I have had many studios over the years, however this one holds the most significance.

Scan 74

A Bientôt

23 thoughts on “Day 4 – 5 photos – five day challenge – The Turning point – Going Sane

  1. olganm

    Although I’m a psychiatrist, you don’t need to be one to understand exactly what you mean. You have to go your own way sometimes and ignore other’s opinion. Beautiful painting and it shows freedom…

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Olga. I also believe that if we are true to ourselves, rather than being selfish, we are then able to be all that we can be for those we care for and love….and yes that painting definitely is symbolic of my new found inner and outer freedom. Have a wonderful weekend. Janet:)x

      Reply
  2. teagan geneviene

    Janet, from one square peg to another — Kudos! This really is an inspiring post. Your artwork is breathtaking, as always.
    The incredibly powerful quote captured me “Whatever you can do, or dream you can, begin it. Boldness has genius, power and magic in it. Begin it now.” I wish i had the courage to quit my job (without another waiting ahead) and do just that. I’ve promised myself I’d do just that over a year ago. Boldness seems to have diminished with age… Someday. Hummingbird hugs. 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      The quote is powerful and I assure you that if you take the leap of faith – things do and will happen in ways that none of us is ever creative enough to predict. I have experienced this at several major junctions in my life when I have made a key decision/choice….enough to know that it really does work. It does take courage, but I know you have that and of course taking creative thinking into all areas of our lives. So fellow square peg in round hole….have a fantastic weekend. Janet:)xx

      Reply
  3. snowbird

    I can imagine you living in a studio, even without heat and water, I would like to hear more about that little adventure….reminds me a bit of our old boat, that had no lights and only the water we took on-board! I totally get the round hole square peg situation, we have to be true onto ourselves for sure, or we’ll always be out of sorts, it took me a while to completely be myself too! Wonderful portrait!!!xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Dina….knew that you would relate, as I believe you have found your true path….and it shows in everything you say and do. Have a wonderful weekend with all those beautiful animals. Janet. xxx

      Reply
  4. Connie

    Many thanks for sharing your story. I’m so happy for you. I’m alway’s re-inventing myself, trying my hand at many artistic forms, and styles. Fourteen spinal surgeries have not stopped me to venture on mentally and creatively. I believe that’s what keeps me smiling and believing in myself – most everything is possible, if you want it bad enough, and I chose living to the fullest even in my not-so-great body. Life only happens once so all of us must make the most of life, and enjoying doing it.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Connie and thank you so much for your inspiring comment. I believe that the creative process in all its many forms is healing for body and mind. You are clearly an example of how this works. Yes, life does only happen once….and it goes by oh so quickly….we can’t waste a moment. Have a wonderful weekend. Janet:)

      Reply
  5. Jen from Universe B

    That is a stunning portrait, and your story reveals the significance behind the beauty. Thank you for sharing your story of transformation! I feel the same way about writing as you do about painting – finding yourself…”going sane”.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much for your comment – and aren’t we fortunate to have something in our lives that allows us to find ourselves and to relish each and every day. Have a lovely weekend. Janet:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

