Making marks with my new watercolour brush…

When painting in Olhao Portugal this past April –  http://www.artinthealgarve.com – one of the group introduced me to a new water-colour brush.    I loved it, and have now purchased my own.

Da Vinci Watercolour Brush – Spin Synthetics Series 488 – Size 8 – I purchased through Amazon. 

The best way to understand a new brush is to play with it…..For this purpose I used a lily as my jumping off point.  

However, you can make just simple marks ….PLAYING is key.

Note that all the white in the image is dry white paper. 

P1160433

The brush holds a lot of water and moves easily from fine to broad brush strokes.    I highly recommend.

A Bientôt

7 thoughts on “Making marks with my new watercolour brush…

  1. teagan geneviene

    “Marks,” she says… just playing with the brush and making marks… 😀 Janet, the image is exquisite. The brush really is intriguing though. I have very (very) little knowledge, but I’ve never seen one like it. Keep playing and having fun. Mega hugs!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much for your comment. The sketch I showed, is a rapid watercolour – just a minute or so. What I have found with this brush is that it loads a lot of paint and water….allowing for some lovely effects. Janet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

