Doors – Olhao Portugal – http://www.artinthealgarve.com

When I was at the Art School, Olhao in April we were told that a door would be introduced allowing easy access between The School House and The Pool House.

Having just returned to the School, I was delighted to see the new door….and even more fascinated to realise the enormous changes this one door has already made to the School and all who stay there.

This photograph shows the door opening from the School House side.     For those who are familiar with the School note the bougainvillea in The Pool House is now in full view….A ramp for wheelchair users has been installed very beautifully – all by Carlos, resident wonder man.

P1160600

During the middle part of my career I produced very large corporate murals on both sides of the Atlantic.     I was continually aware that when I changed one small area of a huge mural…..the rhythm and energy of the entire image changed, which is true for everything in our lives.

The new door has changed the whole atmosphere of the School, and brought  a sense of new energy because of the easy flow and movement back and forth.

Doors to the balcony in the room where I was staying.

P1160554

About 25 years ago when living in the States, I worked with an east coast architect  to restore harmony to a troubled building he had recently renovated.    Through the project I came to understand the principles of Feng Shui.       Since then I am very aware of any blockages in a room or building and how they can have a negative affect on all who inhabit the building.

By opening up dead areas we allow a natural flow of movement and energy which in turn opens the opportunity for new thoughts and ideas. 

When this door is closed…there is darkness…..By opening the small shutters, the light floods in…

P1160555

Doorways suggest passage and movement.     They  have emotional and physical meaning for the people who pass through them.   They keep us in and they keep us out.

P1160759

It sometimes takes enormous courage to walk through a particular door, be it a tangible door or a doorway to the heart and mind.     By moving through and experiencing what is on the other side, often a whole new world is revealed.

Even when we can see through one doorway….there are always more ahead.

P1150874

For those visiting the Art School in Olhao for the first time, it would appear that the new doorway has always been there.     For those who have been before, they will be delighted at the positive opportunities this one door has opened up.   http://www.artinthealgarve.com

More about my recent trip to Olhao Portugal each day this week.

A Bientôt

30 thoughts on “Doors – Olhao Portugal – http://www.artinthealgarve.com

  1. Peter Wells aka Countingducks

    ” It sometimes takes enormous courage to walk through a particular door, be it a tangible door or a doorway to the heart and mind. By moving through and experiencing what is on the other side, often a whole new world is revealed.” I believe that so much myself and that with courage your world expands and with fear it shrinks.

    Reply
  2. First Night Design

    This shows just how important one’s surroundings are. It reminds me of a joke saying of my late uncle: And God said, ‘Let there be light’ and you could see for f*****g miles! I don’t know if that will translate so welcome to edit and delete!

    Reply
  3. ShimonZ

    The very act of opening a new door is a lesson in itself, and I am happy for all those who study and teach at this wonderful school. I enjoyed your photos very much, as well as your thoughts on the subject. Cheers!

    Reply
  4. Jet Eliot

    I really enjoyed your door discussion here, Janet. I love the doorways in your school, and your images of them. I am a big follower of feng shui, and the concept of moving energy through portals, and keeping it moving. Lovely post, as always. 🙂

    Reply
  5. blondieaka

    Wow amazing post , I have always loved how doors can create such peace and harmony or invoke such fear and such a simple feature , I love this post and the calm it invokes , thank you 🙂

    Reply
  6. Julia

    These are magnificent photographs. It’s hard to know what to focus on more––the astounding optics or the depth of understanding you experience and pass on. I guess I opt for “both”! 😊
    “…when I changed one small area of a huge mural…..the rhythm and energy of the entire image changed, which is true for everything in our lives.” THIS is ample material for a good long ponder. Thank you!

    Reply
  7. snowbird

    Oh Janet, this post is JUST what I needed! How beautiful and meaningful! Yes, doors, mystical things they are, as one door opens, often another will close……I totally agree re energy, everything has to keep moving and what way than to move through doorways! Just LOVED your pics here too, what a wonderful place…..sighs I!!! Thanks for this, it has energized me just reading it.xxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

