Claire’s visit – and portrait demonstration in Le Pecq, France.

My friend, Claire, is visiting from Le Pecq – SW of Paris this week.

Last night a group of friends met in Barnes for a lovely get together in honour of Claire.    Today Claire and some other friends will be coming here for lunch and more stimulating conversation.

I have stayed with Claire and her husband Philippe several times in their home in Le Pecq.   Something special always happens.

On one occasion I was to give a portrait demonstration for an art group in Le Pecq, and so prior to the event, I painted for a couple of hours at Claire’s home so that I could be warmed up.    First a portrait of Claire and then one of her daughter, Camille.    Stevie McGarrity-Alderdice (AKA Spike) another artist friend and one who joined us yesterday, was also there.

During the time I was painting Claire, Camille played a soulful piece on the piano.         I will always remember the total sense of interconnection in the room and the gentleness of that special moment.       

On most occasions, I don’t know my subject…I just pick someone from the audience, but on this occasion, I did know Caroline.     

170813_10150119427490396_4833667_o

In this instance I was working off a cadmium orange ground, with a mix of watercolour and gouache. 

135412_10150119427245396_216131_o

118_1870

A Bientôt

18 thoughts on “Claire’s visit – and portrait demonstration in Le Pecq, France.

  1. Bushka

    Lovely! I like that touch of…. ‘During the time I was painting Claire, Camille played a soulful piece on the piano.’ I can imagine the ambience. Hugs! ❤

    Reply
  2. teagan geneviene

    Janet, I so enjoy seeing the process pictures as your work comes to life. And now you have brought all of us into the painting by describing the setting so well. I really did feel as if I was there. I hope you are having a terrific Tuesday. Keep enjoying your friends. Hugs! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Peter Wells aka Countingducks

    Nothing like meeting again with old and valued friends, and to read the story behind the painting and also gain a sense of how music, painting, and sometimes words can fuse together to make a moment unforgettable was a lovely treat to share with us

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you, Peter – it is always a treat to be with Claire and friends….and yes, there’s nothing quite like being totally immersed into the creative process in all its many forms. Janet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

