The creative process is all about experimenting…….

‘The creative process is all about experimenting, letting go of the logical information that our brains have processed during our lifetimes, and embracing the concept of seeing our world in a much broader sense’.    From my book – The Apple Exercise. 

This image is from my ‘interconnections’ series which I started in 1982 and am still working on.     It was inspired by a photograph I came across in a magazine  of a Mother and Child who had been caught up in a Mexican drug war.

Although Mother and child were dead – the last action taken by the Mother was to try and protect and hold her child in her arms.

I was so moved by the image, that I had to honour the lives of these two human beings.   The swans symbolise fluidity, intuition and emotions: –  the hummingbird unseen magic, and the rocks and water the natural elements that we come from and will return to.

Watercolour and Gouache. P1120730

A Bientôt

35 thoughts on “The creative process is all about experimenting…….

  1. Gill McGrath

    I immediately thought of Picasso ( Guernica ) and then read your description! It’s a wonderful painting Janet. I am interested in the progression of your subject …. how it changes, consolidates and moves with you…….<3

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you for such a wonderful comment…as I mentioned to Mary, I am a great fan of Picasso’s work:) This painting is part of a huge ongoing series…which I began in 1982….all about the ‘interconnections’ of life. Janet. x

      Reply
  2. Jayanthi

    Beautiful and deeply, deeply moving, Janet. Hope all goes well with you. Loved your Thames boat ride and hope to come and see you one day by that route! Love, Jayanthi

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Jayanthi. thank you for this lovely comment, it means a great deal to me. I would love for you to come and visit with me, and yes the Thames boat trip is superb….weather permitting, I plan to suggest it to some American friends who will be here on the 8th and 9th…..Keep creating beautiful art…Janet. xx

      Reply
  3. Mary

    I agree, I was immediately reminded of Picasso with your beautiful painting Janet – truly lovely. A wonderful tribute showing a lovely embrace by the Mother in the worst of times. An amazing piece.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

