What Milo Saw….by Virginia Macgregor

For those who read my blog yesterday, you will know that my meeting Virginia Macgregor came about through a fortunate coincidence.     Fellow blogger and friend Olga Nunez Miret – Just Olga wrote a review on What Milo Saw which prompted me to purchase the book….and I am very pleased I did.

The following is my review.

front-cover-of-reading-post-magazine

Nine year old Milo has Retinitis Pigmentosa, an eye disease which removes peripheral vision. His view of the world is through a pin hole, which in Milo’s case heightens his other senses, allowing him to focus and observe details which others tend to miss.

He lives with his Gran, Mum and pet pig Hamlet.     His father has left the family home to be with another women.     This causes his mum to fall apart, and Milo to feel responsible for his Gran’s care.    He loves his Gran dearly.

what-milo-saw -2

Gran, who is highly intuitive, causes a fire in the kitchen knowing that it would mean a move into a nursing home.   In her mind this would set Milo free.

Despite the charmingly quirky and magical nature of this book, it tackles one of the most troubling issues of our times, care for the elderly in the UK.    Through Milo’s heightened senses and acute observation, we see what can happen in an old people’s care home when a system has broken down.

This is when we are introduced to the Forget Me Not Nursing Home and the bitter and cruel, Nurse Thornhill and Tripi the Chef, a gentle man who is fleeing a war-torn Syria.

what-milo-saw-491056

There are many secondary and often very amusing characters who add to the quirkiness and humour of the novel.

As I read the book I could see the characters and settings so clearly in my mind’s eye which prompted me to think that this novel could be made into a lovely film.

Given the magic that surrounds the story and the way Virginia and I connected – I have to believe that the magical hummingbirds were involved:)

P1160253

Virginia’s next novel, The Astonishing Return of Norah Wells, will be released on 14th January – and can be pre ordered through Amazon.

A Bientôt

12 thoughts on “What Milo Saw….by Virginia Macgregor

  1. teagan geneviene

    Janet, you made this review into a marvelous, visual post. Thank you! Virginia’s books sound like the kind of stories that will endure for generations.
    And… one cannot underestimate the power of magical hummingbirds! Mega hugs!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      One can never underestimate the power of magical hummingbirds….I will write a blog one of these days about all the amazing coincidences surrounding Virginia Macgregor an myself…mind blowing….Have a wonderfully creative weekend…janet. xx

      Reply
  2. olganm

    I’m so pleased you liked it although not surprised at all. And I’m happy you found a kindred soul through reading one of my reviews. I agree magic was at play. Nice to catch up and see things are going so well 🙂

    Reply
  3. Sammy D.

    Lovely format you used to feature this author and novel. This sounds like the kind of fiction I enjoy, and I’ve added it to my ‘wish list’ (meaning I will buy it during my next book buying binge which comes quite regularly … Alas).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

