A conversation with Claudia prompted me to make some changes……

Claudia is Madame Nottale’s daughter.     Claudia came to stay with me and my young family back in 1978 when we were living in the States.       We connected through mutual friends…..and  have been close ever since.

Over the years, I have painted Claudia many times, and whenever I spend time with her, she makes an impact on my life…..and that was the case last week in Paris.

Charcoal drawing of Claudia – circa 1995.

10272655_10152387339310396_5025883775136658395_o

it began when Claudia asked me what I thought about the changing of her very busy schedule of workshops, theatre, choreography, etc. so that she could write a book about her work.       My response was to say….she should definitely do it, and not to put it off.

Claudia – at 17 years – circa 1978 – oil on canvas

472169_10151272812425396_1762518870_o

As I thought more about our conversation, I realised that it’s time for me to make some changes.  It’s interesting how sometimes someone else’s questions spark off questions in ourselves.

To begin with – from now on I will blog once or twice a week….which will allow more time for my painting and writing.

As I have been writing my blog for seven years, and am fast approaching seventy this coming January – it seems like a good time make some adjustments.    Although I have always considered age to be simply a number, I am aware that the clock is ticking and that I mustn’t put the things off that I really want to do.

Claudia during our conversation in a cafe in Paris last week. 

P1170937

So this is the plan.     I will write another blog on Friday about the superb exhibition my friend Claire and I enjoyed at Musee d’Orsay last week (Splendour & Misery, Pictures of Prostitution, 1850-1910), and then begin the new routine of blogging once or twice a week.      I will, of course still read everyone else’s blogs, which I love to do.     I learn so much from them….

This will give me more time to paint and produce a book about my own life as an artist which I have been talking about doing for several years!     It is my hope that through my experiences it might help others on their creative path.

I will of course continue to post magical hummingbirds as a reminder of the unseen magic in our world:) which by the way is free for anyone of us to tap into……

11083819_10153183552095396_1247590049461091690_o

A Bientôt.

35 thoughts on “A conversation with Claudia prompted me to make some changes……

  1. ShimonZ

    We learn so much from conversations with our friends, both face to face, and on the net. I congratulate you on your decision to dedicate more time to longer term activities. I’m sure that your readers will be just as happy to get your posts with a bit more space between them. And best wishes, Janet, for a very productive decade up ahead. xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Shimon…now the decision has been made, I feel so much better. I need to get back rhythms in my life that work for me, and I know this new schedule will make a difference. I just needed Claudia to ask me the question….and then I knew:) Janet. xx

      Reply
  2. teagan geneviene

    Dear Janet, thank you for this humming bird with all the beautiful happy yellows to brighten my already stressful morning (emails from boss…). Both the portraits are exquisite! Breathtaking. That said, while I love looking at the paintings and photos you share and reading your descriptions — you are absolutely right. I only do one post a week, and even that is a challenge for the overall time it takes. Now get back to your paints 😉 and I’ll follow that magical hummingbird upstairs to get dressed for work. 🙂 Huge hugs! ❤

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you for this beautiful comment. Actually Teagan you also helped me to make this decision. I love your blog (which I will be catching up with in the next two days) and have often thought, that it’s better to blog once a week, as I would always look forward to reading your blog……I have been mulling this over for sometime, but needed Claudia to ask me the question….and then it was very clear. May the hummingbirds be with you today….visualise some flying around your boss…you never know:)xx

      Reply
  3. First Night Design

    Delicious drawing and painting. Your thoughts on changes has reinforced my need to change my patterns as I’m simply not finding the time to work on my art, let alone my writing. Thank you for a lovely post, Janet. I’m thrilled you’re going to write a book about your work. Impossible to believe you’ll turn 70 next January. But then I find it difficult to believe I’ll turn 60 next year! Keep smiling. 😀

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you, Sarah…It’s good to hear that you feel the same way. I had been thinking about it, but I needed Claudia to ask me the question…and then I knew. Like all decisions made, I immediately feel a sense of relief. I can now establish rhythms of work that are much better for me…..as for the ageing thing….what can I say? except to keep smiling:):)xx

      Reply
  4. Bushka

    Super post! Yes, some people do have exceptional, life-changing effects on us. Good thing that such people are ‘special’. Love the images/pictures! They say so much. Hugs! ❤

    Reply
  5. Carol Balawyder

    First, Janet, your paintings of Claudia are superb! Also, I am looking forward to your Friday post on Musee d’Orsay. I understand you so well regarding your decision to cut down on your blog posts. I am doing the same thing for the same reason as you: more time for my work and, like you, I too (now in my 60’s) feel the clock ticking. We need to prioritize. Anyway, I have learned that just because we don’t blog as often doesn’t mean that we lose followers. 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Carol, thank you so much for this comment. You have hit the nail on the head…prioritising is key….and recently I have recognised that I am losing the rhythms in my life, which is vital not only to my work but also to my mental and physical wellbeing. Our getting older, chronologically, I find focuses the mind…..and so I am looking forward to the new schedule….Janet. :)x

      Reply
  6. olganm

    I love Claudia’s paintings. It’s true that people can make us rethink our lives. It sounds like a good plan, and I’d definitely love the book and the art. Thanks for the hummingbird. And for all the magic.

    Reply
  7. Ngobesing Romanus

    It’s always so nice to be here Janet. You talk so much from your heart; and that is why it gets right into the heart. I love your paining of your friend. Your plan to pay attention to some of the things you have always liked to do is a wise decision. Sometimes we are too carried away by one thing and we forget other very important ones. Thanks again for being such a sweet person and such a sweet friend.

    Reply
  8. kathryningrid

    I am overjoyed! What a lovely plan. Life, lived more fully in the creative realm available in the present, and shared more deeply in writing your book! You *know* that I am delighted and moved by this path you’re taking, and the new turn in it seems to me to offer a magnificent further enrichment to both you and us, your friends and admirers.

    I am contemplating when to reduce my daily commitment to something like three days a week, too. I haven’t the autobiographical depth or the ambition to pursue that, but hope to find other artistic outlets that will be better fulfilled by reducing my online commitment as well. I suspect that, as usual, you have been letting some of your magical hummingbirds whisper around me in their spare time. Thank you for so constantly sharing your inspirations!

    Much love, and Brava!
    Kathryn

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning dear Kathryn and thank you so much for this lovely comment. Having made the decision, I already feel so much better….it’s something I have been talking about doing for a long time, and so my conversation with Claudia, and the fact that the clock keeps ticking, has prompted me that this is the time. I am also hoping that it will give more substance to the one or two posts I do make each week on my blog. Much love to you my friend. Janet. xxx

      Reply
  9. Katherine

    This seems wise as I believe a book by you would be excellentI. began writing here more when unwell and it made me learn a lot but sometimes I prefer writing in a notebook with a pen…and am hoping to return to real art too.All the best.:)xx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Katherine. It’s something I need to do. I have mentioned to you before that your writing has really developed of late….and good to hear that you will be getting back to painting. Janet. xxx

      Reply
  10. Mary

    You are an extraordinary artist Janet, one whom I learned from with each of your posts. It does not surprise me that you will write a book about your life – it would be an instant best seller of your life’s journey as an artist. It would be an exciting venture not only for you as you walk the path of your life, but for the reader as we will be able to appreciate even more the evolution as an artist and circle of life’s that have touched and influenced you along the way. Looking forward to an enjoyable reading!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

