One of those lightbulb moments…..

Watercolour/gouache sketch from the years I spent hill walking in Wales.   20-11-15 - 1 (35)

Five years ago, I attended an Adlerian Summer School, based on the teachings of Alfred Adler,  Austrian psychotherapist and founder of the School of Individual Psychology (1870-1937).

One of the workshops I signed up for was entitled ‘Earliest Childhood Recollections’.      It was Adler’s theory that if we could pin point our earliest recollection/memory,  we would find clues to what he referred to as our ‘private logic’ – metaphors for an individual’s personal lifestyle.

During the workshop, we were asked to go back to our rooms and make a sketch of our earliest childhood recollection.    This  exercise proved to be most revealing.

Sketch of my earliest childhood recollection.

This image depicts me at three years old standing in front of a cobbler’s shop fascinated by a colourful, miniature carousel displayed in the window.. 

20-11-15 - 1 (48)

When I was three years old, my Mother and I were living in Dovercourt, Essex – a small seaside town.    This was immediately after World War II when my Father was still in the Mediterranean with the the Royal Navy.

Each day as we walked to the beach we passed a cobbler’s  (shoe repair) shop which displayed in its window a brightly coloured miniature carousel.       In a post war Britain, devoid of colour, it was a magical sight for a small child.

3f7f7ffaeeca86ca2d4b3981e27f

 

One day, I escaped from our garden.    Given our close proximity to the sea, police were called and a general search was held.

I had somehow made my way to the cobbler’s shop and was found standing in front of the window transfixed by the colourful carousel.

And so how does this memory express my ‘private logic’ as a metaphor for my personal lifestyle?

Throughout my life, I have escaped from situations where I have felt hemmed in either emotionally or physically.    I have always loved colour, and today as an artist am known for my love of colour……..

watercolour – Welsh landscape

11058354_10153461047815396_7992528887012549626_o

For the first forty years of my life, I was a square peg desperately trying to fit into round holes.    It was very painful causing me high levels of stress and anxiety.

At forty, I experienced a major turning point, which was when I stopped being all things for all people and became true to myself.   With that came freedom.    To coin the late Joseph Campbell’s words – it was when I began to ‘follow my bliss’.

watercolour/gouache – Welsh landscape. 

20-11-15 - 1 (37)

Over the years I have met many people who are struggling with what it is they want to do in life.    Often guided by teachers, family, society or circumstances towards careers and lifestyles that don’t fit with who they really are,  their lives  are often filled with an underlying sense of frustration.

Learning about Adler’s theory was a ‘lightbulb’ moment for me and has given much food for thought.        I am sure it might help others to see more clearly what their own ‘private logic’ is and consequently the lifestyle best suited for them.        Regardless, it’s a fascinating exercise.

As always, I leave you with a colourful, magical hummingbird flying free with Mother Nature.     Have a creative and peaceful weekend and week ahead.

P1140525

 

A Bientôt

 

 

 

40 thoughts on “One of those lightbulb moments…..

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Yes, hard to believe it’s been five years…..so last time I would have spoken of this was on the old blog. Thank you so much and hope you and Pat enjoy a lovely weekend. Janet. xxx

      Reply
      1. Bushka

        Thanks Janet….Yes! All systems ‘Go’ now. Amazing how ‘Time flies’…..in a manner of speaking, of course.
        Hope YOU, too, have a Super Week-end! Hugs! ❤

  1. teagan geneviene

    Janet this is a fascinating post. I’m glad you shared it. I loved hearing about your early memory. Mine however, leaves me perplexed… But if it’s about one’s personal logic, I guess it makes sense after all — I’ve long said that “I’m just not wired like everyone else.” So my earliest memory would fit with that. LOL. Mega hugs my friend. ❤ 😀

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Teagan. Pleased this resonated with you. I always remembered this incident, but until the workshop had never spent time really looking at it, and of course not in the context of Adler’s theory, which I now agree with. It’s a fascinating concept. What we did was to pin point a memory and then write down every thought associated with it….that was the start.
      Hope you enjoy a beautiful weekend, filled with creativity and magic:)xx

      Reply
  2. Mary

    Love the hummingbird and gorgeous Welsh countryside paintings, really enjoyed the backbone from where this post came – have a beautiful weekend.

    Reply
  3. olganm

    A great concept. I think you’re right and you’ve made me think (I’ve read about Adler and his theories, but haven’t read him). I guess some people never find their way, so you’re lucky. Thanks for the gorgeous paintings too! Have a magical weekend!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you, Olga. It wasn’t until I began to teach in the seventies, that I realised how fortunate I was to have known form the start what I wanted to do. As you say, so many never find their way, which is so frustrating for them. Enjoy the weekend, Janet. x

      Reply
  4. Katherine

    I think it may be your best ever post.The image of that little child says so much.We are a;; g;ad you became an artist,Janet.Thank you so much.By good fortune you were the first blogger I sae!Have a lovelt weekend.Nice and cosy with h ot drinks and special music.:)xxxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning dear Katherine…thank you so much for this lovely comment, and I remember very well when we first connected through blog land…that was quite a few years ago now. I always hope, given that we both live in London, that we will meet in person one of these days….we should make it happen. Meanwhile, have a lovely weekend. Janet. xxx

      Reply
  5. snowbird

    Oh, how I relate to this post!!! It’s awful being a round peg in a square hole. It took memany years to do what I wanted and not what others wanted me to do. A beautiful post!!!xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning dear Dina…..thank you so much for your comment. Over the years, you and i have discovered that we have so much in common….I look forward to the day when we can sit face to face and talk about it all much more….meanwhile have a wonderful weekend. Janet. xxx

      Reply
  6. Jet Eliot

    I enjoyed the revelations today, Janet — your autobiographical work continues at an impressive pace. I truly love the story of you being found at the cobbler’s with the merry carousel. And your paintings, as always, are such a divine pleasure. Terrific post. 😀

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Jet…thank you so much. I read something in Teagan’s blog this morning about how she writes spontaneous stories, which she may or may not use in her books……I realised that’s how I work with my watercolours – they are spontaneous notes – some I develop and some go nowhere.
      Writing these short blogs about moments in my life, is helping me to get a gauge on the whole….if that makes sense.
      Enjoy the weekend…janet. 🙂

      Reply
  7. Vera Komnig

    Oh yes, freedom and to be yourselves are a great good and so important in order to find peace….and Adler crossed once my life too 😀 Thank you for this wonderful post and Good night, my dear sister in art. 🙂 Vera

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Vera, and thank you of this lovely comment…..Yes, Freedom is key….I would love to think that all human beings could be free to explore their creativity…..Hope you have a wonderful weekend….Your sister in art…janet. xx

      Reply
  8. kathryningrid

    My dearest Janet, what a moving, powerful, *magical* post. You are gifted with both exquisite artistic visions but remarkable and touching insight. The light was *definitely* on when you were inspired to write this! May the year to come bring further wisdom, joy, creative energy, and the light of much love to you and those whose lives touch yours.

    With fondest affection,
    Kathryn

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you – this comment is much appreciated. I hope that you enjoy a lovely holiday season….I know you have a lot on your plate right now, however, hopefully the holidays will add a lighter note to it all:) Sending love…janet. xxx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Ann, Thank you so much for the re blog and comment…much appreciated. Do hope that you are enjoying this holiday period in preparation for a new year, hopefully filled with peace and creativity…Janet:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

