My Christmas Story.

A very special cat……..

20-11-15 - 1 (17)

This is the true story about a precious gift that came to me on Christmas Eve, 1996, when I was living in Crickhowell, Wales.       The gift came in the form of a little cat, a cat that was to change my life in many ways.

The day began as a normal one, but then at 6.30 pm a violent storm struck.    All the cottages were left without power, except for mine, and so when the emergency crews arrived…they asked if I would keep my door open.

The three hundred year old cottage where I lived.

30371_309193229185374_253873514_n

Across from my cottage was an old tree, where  I would always see a  lovely calico cat sitting on a branch….a cat that I thought belonged to my neighbour, Mr. Pickford.

Mr. Pickford – surrounded by magical hummingbirds……..illustration for children’s book – watercolour

20-11-15 - 1 (19)

During the storm, the little calico cat ran from the tree into my cottage for shelter.    Of course I welcomed her and gave her a tin of tuna fish.

I knew that Mr. Pickford had gone away to visit his daughter, and so I put a note through his letter box saying that his cat was safe and sound with me.

After the emergency crews left, I settled down and the little cat snuggled close to me.      On that night I managed to do these quick studies of her sleeping.

20-11-15 - 1 (13)

Two days later, Mr. Pickford returned and came to tell me that his little moggy was still in his cottage!     We both agreed that his moggy and the cat that had now become very comfortable in my cottage were almost identical.

In other words, the cat I had seen sitting in the tree had not been Mr. Pickford’s cat.

I decided then and there to name the little cat, Christeve – so that I would always remember her arrival on Christmas Eve.

Illustration for children’s book – watercolour – Christeve sitting in the tree across from the cottage – needing to find a home of her own. 

20-11-15 - 1 (61)

I learned that Christeve had belonged to another family who had moved three miles away two years earlier.       Christeve kept returning to her old home…and so eventually the family decided that it was best that she be allowed to stay, rather than risk being killed on a road.

I learned from the family that Christeve  had been given to them as a gift on Christmas Eve eight years earlier…..

Christeve the Cat being visited by magical hummingbirds. 

290828_234308249961912_903694536_o

Between her arrival in 1996 and October 2005, when I moved to London, I painted Christeve many times….and she became quite famous on both sides of the Atlantic.

Through Christeve, school children raised funds for all sorts of causes.       Christeve became part of an educational programme showing children how all of life is interconnected and the importance of taking care of our environment.

One of many poster/illustrations where children would look for, and name the different animals….and of course Christeve was always part of the picture.  

20-11-15 - 1 (63)

Eventually, I wrote a little children’s book, entitled Christeve the Cat finds  her home.    It is a book about hope and trusting in the unseen magic which is symbolised by hummingbirds.     The story takes place in the Magical Town of Crickadoon. 

665634_433797703346298_1052223203_o

I wish one and all a peaceful and loving holiday season.

For all those, especially children who have no home of their own, remember that the magical hummingbirds are always close at hand.

20-11-15 - 1 (3)

A very happy Christeve the Cat

302846_309648909139806_918859733_n

 

A Bientôt

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

53 thoughts on “My Christmas Story.

  1. anroworld

    Real Christmas miracle…your story and pictures are so warm and hope-giving…I am impressed and feel great…Christeve is a miracle who found a right person to do wonders…You are a very talented artist with a very kind heart!!!

    Reply
  2. Mary

    What an amazing story – it was precious from beginning to end. I loved your art and book that was framed around Christeve, a very special gift indeed. Mr. Pickford was something else, awesome painting with the hummingbirds around him, and your ending painting – well gorgeous! I hope you have a wonderful holiday season – best wishes.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Mary…so pleased you enjoyed….and yes Mr. Pickford was quite a character….He lived without central heating, TV or any other mod cons, but was extremely happy. I hope that you have a wonderful holiday season filled with peace and love. Janet:)

      Reply
      1. Mary

        Thank you so much Janet. You could probably write a book about Mr. Pickford, those kind of characters is what gives a brush of fresh air to everyday life. My very best to you for a wonderful holiday season too and looking forward to seeing you in 2016. Happy writings ~

  3. tedgiffin

    The first picture of the kitty, has the shininess in the eyes.. I laughed aloud when I saw Mr. Picford, so happy. What I beautiful way to chronicle the happiness directly in one’s life. Thank you.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Glad that Mr. Pickford put a smile on your face. He was a real character, and the sort of person that you don’t meet anymore. Not central heating, tv or any other kind of mod con…..but blissfully happy and a lovely neighbour. Hope you enjoy a very creative and peaceful holiday season. Janet:)

      Reply
  4. Bette A. Stevens

    Thanks so much for sharing your Christmas story, Janet. The illustrations are beautiful, as they always are; but, extra special now that I’ve met Christeve. Wishing you a Very Merry Christmas!

    Reply
  5. davidjrogersftw

    A lovely story with beautiful paintings. Isn’t it interesting how cats come into our lives often by their choice? We had one or two that did that, and they were wonderful additions to our family. Best wishes for a happy holiday season, Janet.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, David and thank you so much for your comment, and yes, I do believe that cats choose us….Much like a delicious desert, I am saving your blog to read over the holidays….meanwhile, I do hope the you and your family have a lovely holiday season. Janet. 🙂

      Reply
  6. Paul J. Stam

    I love your painting. Not much good at it myself, I guess that’s why I stick to writing (and a little ceramics), anyway, I wanted to thank you for letting me know you liked “Traveler From a Distant land.” – Thanks again and Aloha – pjs/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

