From Childhood to Childlike….

On a windy morning this past week, I saw a young child running after leaves left over from the autumn.       I could see the child’s joy and excitement.

Maya – one of my youngest models from the Boathouse Studio series.   Watercolour. 

P1160906

In that moment I was taken back to my own childhood and in particular an experience I had when I was about seven years old.      It was a another very windy day and I was riding my bike down a hill enjoying the feeling  that I was flying with the wind.

Observing the little child this week, I was reminded of the playfulness, joy and curiosity inherent in childhood and how vital a foundation block this period of our life is as we move through adolescence into adulthood.

Rapid watercolour demonstration – during workshop on the banks of the River Usk, Wales.    Children frolicking in the water….  circa 2004

glen Usk Estate

As we move into adolescence we have a need to find the truth about ourselves.  We no longer  accept the advice of others – preferring to learn by our own personal experience.  I remember this period so well…both as a child and a parent…..

Rapid watercolour of adolescent French boy  – circa 1995. 

P1180027

Then as we reach adulthood, we become more caring and responsible for the world around us.   We discover a strong desire to fulfil our own unique expression of life.     We begin to gain perspective and to stay in touch with our heart.

My daughter Christie – watercolour – circa January 2016. 

20-11-15 - 1 (116)

As we age, having seen many cycles of birth and death, a certain wisdom grows within.

Watercolour – Madame Nottale – France  circa 2012

135830_10151286353205396_2041716361_o

A childlike quality is revealed.

I have observed this with my 95 year old Mother and many others who have reached old age.     The delight in a ninety year old’s eyes when a dog or young child visits is the same sort of delight shown by children chasing leaves or experiencing other simple pleasures.

A wonderful quote from Pablo Picasso – 

‘Every child is an artist.   The problem is how to remain an artist once he/she grows up.’  

Today we can fly above all the madness and be playful like magical hummingbirds…..watercolour

P1160253

A Bientôt       

 

 

 

 

52 thoughts on “From Childhood to Childlike….

  1. First Night Design

    Childlike wonder is the only way to survive life from birth to death. I feel so sad when I realise another person has lost it and doesn’t find much happiness in life as a result. Exquisite work alongside wise, wise words, Janet. As always. xx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much for this lovely comment, and yes I totally agree with you. To lose childlike wonder and curiosity would be sad indeed. Hope that you are enjoying a lovely day…..Janet. xx

      Reply
      1. First Night Design

        These are the people who look old before their time. I temped at a mortgage company in the ’80s with a bunch of people I had thought were middle-aged and turned out to be younger than me and in their early to mid-twenties. I was astounded. They had no spark at all, no life in their eyes. So sad.

      2. janetweightreed10 Post author

        This made me laugh..thinking of you in an office filled with unhappy people….and wondering what on earth was wrong!:) It is so true, people who have stopped being childlike in any way, are often old before their time……yes, very sad. But we will keep smiling, Sarah:):)

  2. teagan geneviene

    Dear Janet, your skill in watercolor portraits astounds me every time. Thank you so much for sharing your gift here. I’m so happy to know you through this blog. I loved the Picasso quote, but my favorite is one of your own… “Today we can fly above all the madness and be playful like magical hummingbirds…” Here’s to flying above the madness my friend. Have a thriving Thursday. Mega hugs! ❤ 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good evening from London dear Tegan and thank you for your lovely comment. Yes, here’s to flying above all the madness…we can do it….:) May you be surrounded by colour and magical hummers this day. Janet. xxx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning and thank you so much for the re blog and for your very lovely comment about my work. It means a great deal to me coming from someone who is so very talented. I hope you have a lovely day ….janet. :)xx

      Reply
  3. Jet Eliot

    I enjoyed this beautiful journey through life immensely, Janet. Your paintings are incredible, all of them here are so sensuous. I really like the French boy’s face so much, and the hummingbirds. Have a fun weekend of life. 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Jet…Thank you so much. I was having an exhibition in Brittany, France in 1995, and at that time painted many of the local people and children….and this boy was one of them. it’s always lovely to look at a sketch or painting and remember the moment I did it:) Hope you and Athena are enjoying a wonderful February 14th. Janet. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Mary

    A special post Janet as you remind us to stay in the childlike mindset and to enjoy what life is offering – the wonderment can’t be overrated. Wonderful paintings – you always inspire me to press forward.

    Reply
  5. inesephoto

    Such a beautiful idea to showcase life. Thank you so much for sharing your art and thoughts, Janet. It is difficult to pick a favorite, but I do love the French boy’s face expression – very familiar 🙂
    Have a wonderful week! ❤

    Reply
  6. Katherine

    This is a brilliant post both in colours and in the ideas.I remember the joy of sliding down a frozen hill on a tin tray and going home wet but happy after an hour or two.Thank you for sharing your perceptions.:)xxxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I smiled broadly as I read your comment, because I to have frolicked in snow and cold, and gone home filled with the joys of life:) Remembering our childhood reminds us of the simple pleasures….and that we don’t need a lot of money to have fun. Have a beautiful day….and thank you for the comment…janet. xxx

      Reply
  7. davidjrogersftw

    Janet, your lovely post is especially relevant to me, and your paintings particularly poignant because my childhood, described in my Growing Up Stories, is my favorite preoccupation these days. It seems to me that if an artist or writer lives long enough, childhood well may become the main subject too. Novelist John Updike said that nothing that happens to you after the age of 20 is worth writing about. Some of my fondest memories are of being a little boy on a bicycle. Thanks so much for the post.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning David, What a great quote from John Updike – one of my favourite American authors. Perhaps as we get older we see our childhood more clearly and understand the importance it has as a foundation block to our lives….. It also reminds us not to forget the more simple pleasures of life. I must read your, Growing up Stories. Hope you enjoy a lovely and creative day…..Janet.:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

