Phoenix area hummingbirds

Some lovely hummingbird images…Janet.

Myr's Bytes

IMG_2520b

Male Anna’s Hummingbird. Gilbert Water Ranch, Gilbert, Arizona. December 2015.

I saw a few hummingbirds when I went to Arizona last December. And when I looked through my photos, they were all male Anna’s hummingbirds. Male Anna’s have fancy magenta feathers on both their crown and throat. The colour is not a pigment, but a structural property of the feathers. When light hits the feathers at a certain angle, they appear magenta because this is the wavelength that is reflected. The magenta waves are also amplified by the feather surface, which is composed of layers of tiny air bubbles. When light meets the feathers at other angles, no light is reflected so they appear black. I didn’t photograph any hummingbirds whose crown and throat feathers were angled for full magentic splendor. Maybe some other time! You can read more about hummingbird iridescence on the Sibley Guides website.

J and…

View original post 103 more words

19 thoughts on “Phoenix area hummingbirds

  1. phoartetry

    Interesting info and wonderful photos Janet. Hummingbirds are so fascinating. There are over 300 types or species of hummingbirds in the world. Amazing, isn’t it.

    A friend of mine experienced an unbelievable event involving a hummingbird. She left her door open late at night and a hummingbird flew into her room landing on her nightgown. She was able to hold it in her hand, and it sat drinking water from her palm. Oh, I forgot to mention, she was on a cruise ship in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. The magic of life.

    Connie

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Connie. I was giving a workshop yesterday and talking about my first experience ever of seeing a hummingbird. It was 1968 and I was in the mountains of North Carolina…My host guided me towards a hummingbird feeder and suggested that I sit quietly and wait. What a magical moment. Since then I have used hummingbird imagery in my paintings to symbolise the ‘unseen magic’ in our world.
      What an incredible experience your friend had…..surely a magical moment:) Have a beautiful weekend. Janet.

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Jet….so pleased you enjoyed Myriam’s post. I have been more busy than usual for the past couple of weeks…..and so am rather playing catch up with all things internet. Wishing you a wonderful weekend, with hopefully some hummingbird sightings. Janet:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Teagan…one of these days I am quite sure that you will be living and writing in Arizona….surrounded of course with magical hummingbirds. Have a lovely weekend. Janet. xxx

      Reply
  2. Myriam (Myr's Bytes)

    Thanks for the reblog Janet :-). I appreciate your exhuberantly joyful watercolour hummingbirds. I think they were in the back of my mind yesterday when I was looking for a little something to cheer me up. Editing hummingbird photos just popped up like a good idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

