Unseen Magic….capturing movement in watercolour

In my workshop yesterday we talked about capturing movement using the medium of watercolour.      Magical hummingbirds are the perfect subject to demonstrate this.

The magical hummingbird drinking from the sweet nectar of life….watercolour

20-11-15 - 1 (102)

To capture movement, I need to experience it in my own mind and body…and then transport the feeling of energy to paper.

Often it is the very fast, spontaneous images which work best.

watercolour on a gouache ground….20-11-15 - 1 (53)

These rapid/spontaneous images take less than a minute to complete.     The idea is to transfer the feeling as rapidly as possible onto paper.

watercolour

20-11-15 - 1 (104)

My suggestion to artists who wish to produce a more representational/realistic image, is to warm up initially with these rapid sketches…..This will hone observational skills and have a positive impact on finished work.

watercolour – a medium perfect for capturing a moment or essence of my subject. 

20-11-15 - 1 (115)It’s also good to imagine the stillness of a hummingbird – a rare moment for we humans to see….but nevertheless part of this amazingly magical creature’s charm.

20-11-15 - 1 (118)

I wish everyone a beautiful weekend….Janet:)

A Bientôt

 

47 thoughts on “Unseen Magic….capturing movement in watercolour

  1. Mary

    Magnificent energy and movement captured in these one-minute sketches. I love your work, if only to see your action in person – to create such exquisite, vibrant – colorful sketches speaks to your artistic eye and extraordinary talent Janet. Just loved this post ~ have a beautiful weekend.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Mary..thank you for this lovely comment…I really appreciate and nothing would delight me more than to meet you in person during one of my creative workshops. Have a beautiful and creative weekend. Janet:)x

      Reply
  2. Writing to Freedom

    Beautiful images Janet! You certainly captured the feeling of joy and movement. Thanks. Would you consider letting me create a poem to go with one of your images and post it on my blog with credit and links to you and your site?

    Reply
  3. Teagan Geneviene

    Janet, you always amaze me — but even more so with these rapid works of art. I think the hummingbirds have given you their magic in return for being the subjects of your art. Mega hummingbird hugs. Have a thriving Thursday. ❤ 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Teagan…thank you so much for this lovely comment. I firmly believe that artist, just like athletes and dancers – need to warm up at the beginning of each painting session….and so these movement sketches are a wonderful way to do this. They hone observational skills and get all the juices flowing:) I am quite sure that you have the equivalent in writing. Have a wonderfully creative weekend, and of course, surrounded with colour and magical hummers. Janet. xx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning and thank you for this lovely comment. My goal as an artist is to ‘marry technical prowess with the intangible’ and these rapid movement sketches help me move towards that goal….I hope you enjoy a lovely weekend…janet:)xx

      Reply
  4. Jet Eliot

    I love the focus on capturing movement in this post, Janet–rapid strokes, transporting the feeling of energy. Knowing the quickness of hummingbirds, your work and your skill is a marvel to me.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much, Jet. Capturing movement and energy is such an exciting endeavour for me. As I said in my workshop last week….one almost has to get into the head and body of the subject. Have a lovely day. Janet:)

      Reply
  5. thefeatheredsleep

    Gorgeous work♡ WP unfollowed me from everyone no idea at all why but I’m obviously readding. Darn WP gremlins

    Reply

Leave a Reply

