My trip to France – beginning in Port-En-Bessin

The purpose of my recent trip to France was to visit Nantes where I painted a group of actors as they rehearsed for a production (more about that in my next blog)

However, my good friends Bonnie and Dave Dutton were visiting Normandy from the States,  and so  I made a detour which led me to the enchanting town of Port-En-Bessin where they were staying.

Famous for its integral part in World War II, and more specifically The Battle of Port-En-Bessin, which took place from 6-8th June 1944, it is also an area well known for delicious apple cider, Calvados and seafood….hmmmmm.

A very peaceful setting today – Port-En-Bessin.port-en-bessin-vue-g-n-raleSurrounded by beautiful Normandy countryside….the town and area are a reminder of the close geographical and historical links between England and France.

Just outside of the town of Port-En-Bessin – a bucolic scene which are replicated in Devon and Cornwall across the Channel. 20-11-15 - 1 (256)    Dave and Bonnie had booked me into, Les Filles du Bord de Mer where they were staying. Located in the middle of the Town and within a minutes walk of everything one could ever need,  including the harbour, shops and numerous restaurants, it is a place I highly recommend.

Les Fille du Bord de Mer is just across the road from the Apple Cider shop…..how convenient is that?20-11-15 - 1 (268)These pictures show the apartment where Dave and Bonnie were staying…..filles1Part of the apartment where I stayed. filles-bord-de-mer-location-727x313Every detail was taken care of..124261_origMy accommodation was on the top floor of the three story house….these are the beautiful stairs leading down to the lovely tiles you can see on the  ground  floor. 20-11-15 - 1 (264)Dave and Bonnie as we enjoyed a delicious feast of Moules – fish stew and some of the best ice cream I have had in a while.   Ice cream being one of my favourite foods:)20-11-15 - 1 (259)I love arriving in a place that I know nothing about.     In this instance there was only time for an overview,  however, it is definitely a place I would return to and explore much more.

Dave was seeing the area through the eyes of an historian and Bonnie and I through those of artists.    On my next visit to Port-En-Bessin I will definitely paint and would hope to stay at Les Filles du Bord de Mer again.

Looking down onto the Town 3635766The flags were flying around the town in preparation for the many visitors who were about arrive to commemorate the 72nd anniversary of the D Day Invasion and the vital part that Port-En-Bessin played in it. 20-11-15 - 1 (272)The next day, Dave and Bonnie drove me to Rennes where I caught the train to Nante.

Magical hummingbirds were definitely with us because although there was a petrol strike and a train strike – we had no problems.    Dave and Bonnie arrived at their destinations safely and are now home in S. Dakota.     I arrived safely in Nante where I was met by my dear friend Claudia.

Next week, I will write about the wonderful experience I had working with the theatre group in Nantes.

Enjoy a week filled with magical hummingbirds….

11061352_10153183551635396_8740567483782858174_o-2

A Bientôt.

32 thoughts on “My trip to France – beginning in Port-En-Bessin

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you….and yes the apartments were so lovely with every detail thought of. I could quite happily spend a week or two there:) Hope you have a beautiful day and weekend ahead. Janet.

      Reply
  1. Bushka

    Wow! Fantastic post…most delightful pictures…especially one of Bonnie…..Great to catch up with her, I’m sure. She looks well! Thanks for sharing. Hugs! ❤

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Of course you remember Bonnie from the old blog…..Well, as you see she looks wonderful and it was so special to spend time with her and Dave. Definitely a place I want to return to. Thank you…Janet. xxx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      HI Dear Bonnie….such a special place and I have you and Dave to thank for introducing it to me. I can still taste the meal we had and yes the superb ice cream…Janet:)

      Reply
  2. Teagan Geneviene

    Ahh Janet… what a wonderful way for me to be spirited away during my lunch-break from as stressful day! All flown to me by that beautiful hummingbird. 😀 Your narration finished bringing all the beautiful photos to life. Such peaceful scenes! And the accommodations were perfectly lovely. I’m so glad you had this wonderful time with friends. I can’t wait for your post about Nantes. Hummingbird hugs!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Teagan…..so pleased you enjoyed. Port-En-Bessin is definitely a place to re-charge batteries. I will be thinking about you this weekend…and sending magical hummingbirds in your direction…janet. xxx

      Reply
  3. Jet Eliot

    Oh did I every enjoy this trip to France, Janet, thanks so much. Your photos, your lovely apartments, your smiling friends, the colors and landscapes and beauty. Nice to visit in a more peaceful time, and to have such special times with loving friends.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Jet. Yes, it is a lovely place and one I will certainly visit again. A great place to re-charge the batteries, and as you say how lovely that I see it in peaceful times. It’s hard today to imagine the horrors of WWII – but important that we never forget. Wishing you a beautiful weekend. Janet:)

      Reply
  4. olganm

    What a lovely place. I have visited a few places in France with my friend Iman and her family (they live in Paris) but haven’t visited that area. We must put it in our list. Thanks for the magical hummingbirds, Janet!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Dear Olga….I think you would really enjoy this place…excellent for writing and only a two hour drive from Paris….I definitely want to return sometime. Am thinking about you and your Mother. Janet.x

      Reply
  5. snowbird

    What a lovely, relaxing place. The apartments are lovely, they’re really cosy and well stocked. I do love those stairs, I have a thing about spiral staircases. So glad you caught your train without any problems. Looking forward to part two!xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      This would be a great place for you and Hubs to have a break…and not too far from home. I couldn’t get over how every single detail was taken care of in the apartments….and as mentioned, plenty of restaurants, shops within a minutes walk – and of course the water and harbour. A good find…xxx

      Reply
  6. Pingback: My trip to France – beginning in Port-En-Bessin | How my heart speaks

Leave a Reply

