Taking a break

Brecon Beacons National Park – wales.  – watercolour/gouache 

20-11-15 - 1 (267)

I can hardly believe that it is the 11th August which means I have now begun my ninth year of blogging!      Thank goodness I listened to my intuition because through this medium I have learned a great deal,  met some wonderful people…and all in all feel richer for the experience.

Table Top – overlooking Crickhowell (aka The Magical Town of Crickadoon) Wales.  watercolour

20-11-15 - 1 (1)

I usually take a break from my schedule at this time of the year.    Time for some R & R and also time to prepare for autumn – one of my favourite seasons.

20-11-15 - 1 (7)

I will be back here at the beginning of September, hopefully with all sorts of new images and news….

Capturing the ever changing light over the Brecon Beacons and Black Mountains, Wales.   Watercolour/gouache. 

20-11-15 - 1 (286)

Of course the hummingbirds will still continue to spread their magic.   – watercolour

20-11-15 - 1 (195)

A bientôt

 

38 thoughts on “Taking a break

      1. janetweightreed10 Post author

        Hi Dear Sarah…just returned from a wonderful break…in all respects and am feeling refreshed. I return to find that the small company in the States – HummingbirdHQ – has started an account with Zazzle…and am excited to see the different products she is able to apply my hummers to…..anyway, I immediately thought of you. I do hope that I can get to Bembridge soon to visit with you and enjoy the light. Meanwhile, hope that you are thoroughly enjoying your new home. Sending love Janet. xxx

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Yes, indeed….off to the Magical Town of Crickadoon for one week, and other parts for the rest….a recipe of painting, wonderful friends, etc. Hope you enjoy a lovely August. Janet. xxx

      Reply
  1. Teagan Geneviene

    Wow… nine years of blogging. Kudos on that achievement, Janet. You took my breath away with this glorious collection – purely stunning colors. Then you crowned it with one of your most beautiful magical hummingbirds. I’ll imagine this little one right outside my window. I’ll miss you, but want you to enjoy this well deserved break. Love & hugs! 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Teagan….This month starts my ninth year – which I can hardly believe. I can remember the moment when I made the decision to write a blog (not knowing what that meant) I was painting in France with a friend, and made the announcement that I would be blogging. Most people had no idea what that meant….and so I just did it! First with another server for several years, and more recently with WordPress, which is so much better. I have gained much from writing my blog….not least of which is the meeting of fantastic people, like yourself, from around the world, that I otherwise would not have known. It has also helped me to understand a little bit of what it takes to write….and now that I am writing a novel based on my own life, it has helped enormously. Although, having said that, it is not an easy task – writing that is….which is why I admire your work so much:) Have a lovely August and know that you are surrounded with magical hummers. I will be back here at the beginning of Sept…Janet. xxx

      Reply
      1. Teagan Geneviene

        I couldn’t agree more about blogging. Janet, you are a treasured friend. So you’ve chosen a novel format rather than a memoir. I’m sure that can make a lot of things easier. People have always said I “should” so my own (but you know I think “should” is such a harmful word)… I’ve tried to approach it from a novel standpoint, but I still think someone else would have to write it. Your story, however, is fascinating, hopeful, a lovely journey. I can’t wait to read it. See you in September. More hugs.

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Dina….This month, August is the beginning of my ninth year…. I am so grateful that i made the decision to blog (even though I had no idea what that meant) as I have met so many wonderful people and creatives because of it…including you my dear friend. Enjoy a lovely August, and I will see you beginning of September…Janet. xxx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you, Jayanthi…..will be in Wales for some of it, and generally enjoying a very creative period:) I will think of you as you prepare for Spain in September…meanwhile, have a lovely August, and happy painting. Janet. xx

      Reply
  2. Timi Townsend

    Janet, I simply adore the vivid colors you obtain with watercolor! I’ve never seen anything like it, and I certainly was never able to even approach what you do with the medium (think brown, think muddy). Your palette really brings your work to life.

    Have a great time during your break. I, for one, will miss you and will look forward to your return!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning, Timi – thank you so much for this lovely comment. Every now and then I give a tutorial on my blog…and so in the autumn I will write a post featuring a very simply technique which completely illuminates mud in watercolour:) Enjoy the rest of August…janet. x

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi dear kathryn……I have had a glorious break and am feeling refreshed…..of course I do pace myself:) Looking forward to catching up on yours and others blogs and writing more myself. Sending love with hopes that you have enjoyed a lovely summer. Janet. xx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi dear Olga….yes, I had a wonderful break and am feeling refreshed…..Will be commenting on blogs and writing a blog soon…..it will take a while to get back into the rhythm of things. I do hope that all is well with your Mother. Janet:)

      Reply
  3. Jet Eliot

    Congratulations on your impressive anniversary, Janet, and many thanks for being a blogger who many of us look up to. Your paintings are a breath of fresh air, so much movement and freshness. I look forward to your return, but am ever so glad you have had the joy of a break.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Dear Jet….have returned from the break feeling much refreshed….and ready for a new season. It will take a while for me to catch up with blogs and the writing of my own, but in all good time, I will. Hope you have enjoyed a wonderful summer. Janet:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

