Following life’s Clues…..

I am off to Saorge, France for a few days….

2109867-saorge

When I was with friends in Wales this past summer, we talked about my wish to find Marmite Heaven – (will write more about MH in a later post).     My friends have been renting a house in Saorge, France for the past year and suggested that I visit before their rental finished, as it might be a place where I would enjoy sketching/painting and possibly more….we will see.   As the title of this post indicates….I am following life’s clues…..

24907686

I will fly to Nice, where I will be met by my friend Gareth.    We will then drive up into the mountains to Saorge, which sits on the border off Italy and France – two of my favourite countries.

2134446-saorge

I have already scheduled a workshop in London this November, where I will be using images of Saorge as the ‘jumping off point’ for paintings…..and so am hoping to return next week with lots of information and images – both sketches and photographs – to share here.

Meanwhile, I leave you with a double dose of magic with this new ‘painted elephant plus magical hummingbirds’       It is already adorning products at http://www.zazzle.com/janet+weight+reed+gifts

14682166_10154490609420396_2006463825262304160_o

A Bientôt.

 

 

 

 

57 thoughts on “Following life’s Clues…..

  1. Teagan Geneviene

    Dear Janet, I absolutely love the elephant!
    You’ve given us quite a teaser here. The photos are so gorgeous, I can’t wait to see your paintings.
    Life’s clues… Mine seem to have led to a dead end. But I see a sunny path for you.
    Mega hugs my friend.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi dear Teagan…It will be interesting to see what I come back with:) By the way the elephant cane be found on several new products on my site…..Glad you like, and your trail will come alive again soon….xxx

      Reply
  2. davidprosser

    Have a wonderful and fruitful time Janet. Create a few more masterpieces like the magnificent elephant with hummingbirds.Your pictures are always enchanting.
    xxx Massive Hugs xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you, Dina….I am really looking forward to seeing this place and hopefully coming back with lots of interesting images….I will let you know. By the way the elephant is on several product son my Zazzle site:)xxx

      Reply
  3. ourfrenchoasis

    Shame you are going to be so far away, but I hope you have a fabulous time, this is where my late Mother in Law painted so much, the light, the magic of the area, I could go on and on. Next time I hope you will come and stay with us! Xx

    Reply
  4. Liz Grant

    What fabulous photos!! It just looks an amazing place! Lucky you! Just responding to an earlier post from you about your son. Mine was 40 last year [I think I started rather later than you!] and is also a fantastic musician and a first class chef…..so I was rather amused by the similarity there!! Any idea when you’re doing your day in London??

    All best wishes,

    Liz Grant

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Liz…lovely to hear from you. I caught this just before leaving…Yes, it does sound as if there are a lot of similarities with our sons….one day we will sit and talk about it. The workshop is Wednesday November 23rd for SOFAP -Fulham Hammersmith Arts Society. – If you google them you will see where to sign up if you have an interest. Off to France now…Janet. x

      Reply
  5. davidjrogersftw

    Janet, you are so prolific lately, you make my head spin. I haven’t been able to keep up with reading your posts that seem to come pouring out of you. But I knew I had to stop and visit, and I read this one which made me laugh because we are so often on the same wavelength. I just published a post about clues too.

    I love your elephant and hummingbirds–lovely, imaginative, and lively, as always.

    I wanted to be sure to tell you my wife Diana bought one of your hummingbird pendants on Zazzle. She adores it.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning David….Yes,I do seem to be going through one of those very creative moments….always a relief. I have been in France and very busy with other projects in London and so now will take the time to catch up with comments, read your blog re ‘clues’, .and yes we are so often on the same wavelength.
      Glad you like the elephant and even more delighted to hear that Diana has bought one of my hummingbird pendants….that has put a huge smile on my face:) Wishing you and Diana a beautiful autumn weekend in Chicago….Many thanks Janet:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Andrea….now I have been there, I can attest to its amazing beauty and yes so inspiring. My next post will be about my experience there, and I hope it to be the beginning of many more visits. wishing you a beautiful weekend and many thanks – Janet:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Joel, Thank you so much for your lovely comment. My next post will be all about my first impressions of Saorge….and I am hoping that this visit is the beginning of many more to come. Hope you are enjoying a lovely weekend…janet:)

      Reply
  6. phoartetry

    This world is but a canvas to our imagination – Henery David Thoreau. Enjoy your travels and keep you paintbrush dancing. I love the elephant, it brightens up my smile.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Wonderful quote…thank you. I love Saorge and look forward to many more visits….a superb place to paint, write and think….wondrous:) Thank you so much for your kind words…always appreciated….janet:)

      Reply
  7. Jet Eliot

    Janet, your elephant painting here is so colorful and fun; and the photos in France are wonderful. I hope you are having a marvelous trip and I look forward, as always, to seeing your glorious expressions~~

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Jet….I am hoping that this visit to Saorge will be the first of many to come. I loved it, and will be writing my next blog or two on my first impressions. As always thank you so much for your very kind words….I really appreciate your comments. Hoping you are enjoying a beautiful autumn weekend in California….Janet:)

      Reply
  8. Mary

    I hope you have a wonderful trip Janet – Saorge sounds like a beautiful environment to get inspired. Can only imagine what comes of your trip.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Mary….I am back now after a truly wonderful time in Saorge…I will be writing about it in m next blog. Definitely a place for artists..I think you would love it. Thank you so much…enjoy the day and week ahead…janet:)

      Reply
  9. Kate4grace

    What a lovely post.It’s good to get away before winter.Though now our seasons are a bit confused her in the UK.Light is what we need.So glad you had this break and love the images

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Katherine, – thank you for the comment, I had a wonderful time and Saorge is definitely a place I hope to visit many times again. Speaking of light….it is wonderful in this particular area….an absolutely paradise for painters and writers. Hoping all is well with you and that you are also busy creating, painting and writing…janet:)x

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much…I had a wonderful time. My post this week will be all about it…talk about a paradise for painters and writers…absolutely beautiful in every respect. Hope your painting is going well….I follow you on Twitter, and will be catching up with blogs soon…janet:)

      Reply
  10. olganm

    Not sure how I missed this post, Janet. The place looks amazing indeed and I love the elephant and hummingbird. How not? I’m sure the workshop will be a success. Nice to have you back!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you, Olga….My next blog will be talking about my first impressions of Saorge…Definitely a place I would like to return to. Superb for painters and writers….Janet..x

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning – forgive me….Misty who runs all designs and business has been away, I will e mail her this morning and ask about laptop decals….Meanwhile, do hope you have a lovely weekend…Janet:)

      Reply

Leave a Reply

