Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end’ – Seneca

‘Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end’  Seneca

watercolour/gouache

20-11-15-1-448

Since I last posted on the 15th December – on the one hand it has been a whirlwind and on the other a very special time of reflection.

My daughter Christie arrived on the 29th for the Funeral which was on the 30th and stayed with me until this past Friday when she flew back to Boston.       As always our time together was very special.

After the Funeral,  Christie and I went to Wellington in Somerset with very good friends for three days, which was the perfect thing to do.

watercolour/gouache

20-11-15-1-453

It is now time to move gently into the new year where I plan to establish more fluidity and flow to my work, always taking my cue from the creative process and of course the magical hummingbirds:)

I also plan to add more colours to my palette in the form of podcasts and videos on youtube.      In the same way that I knew nothing about blogs when I started writing one nine years ago, I know absolutely nothing about making Podcasts….but I will learn.

I always make sketches of my children when I see them.    These hummingbirds were waiting for me to integrate Christie into the painting.

Two hummingbirds with Christie – watercolour/gouache. 

20-11-15-1-496

Please bear with me as I catch up and get into new rhythms of being.     I am looking forward to reading so many other blogs……

Meanwhile, I wish one and all a very lovely New year filled with good health, peace and creativity.

A Bientôt

51 thoughts on “Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end’ – Seneca

  1. ellenbest24

    I wish you also health, peace, happiness and success in 2017. P.s. I am only 20 minutes from Wellington (without tractors holding us up) as we reside in Ilminster; so close and yet so far.😇

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Ellen….thank you so much. My friends recently moved to Wellington, although Rosie was born and grew up there and actually went to Somerset Art College at the same time that I went to Rochester Art College (back in the sixties. Anyway, she and her husband have returned there and are literally a one minute walk from the town centre. It’s a part of the world I love….as my ancestors on my Father’s side are from Dorset. I will definitely be back again, and so we should meet up…I will let you know. Meanwhile have a lovely day….Janet:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much Sue….I am definitely hoping for a softer, gentler year ahead…..and trips to France. I am now looking forward to catching up with yours and other blogs that I have missed. Wishing you a beautiful day….Janet. xxx

      Reply
  2. Teagan Geneviene

    Pod casts… how exciting! Good luck with that new project, Janet. I love the new look on these hummingbirds, and of course Christie is beautiful.
    Thanks for these warm tones. It’s very VERY cold here this morning. Wishing you a wondrous 2017. Mega hugs.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning dear Teagan…I have missed you and LOVE your new profile picture. You are such a beauty. Thank you very much for the kind words…and yes Podcasts….something I have been thinking about for some time, but with all that has been going on….I couldn’t fit another thing in. It will be very interesting to see how it develops…… Now I look forward to catching up with your blog during the next day or so….Wishing you a very special 2017….and hopefully the South West will play a big part in it, along with the hummingbirds, of course. xxx

      Reply
      1. Teagan Geneviene

        You are so kind, Janet. Thank you. I encountered such failure getting to the southwest, and such dishonesty… I’m making myself reevaluate where I “should” go… but I insist on a warmer climate, and a suitable culture. I love what you said to someone about a “softer, gentler year” — my hopes exactly. Well said. Hummingbird hugs my friend.

  3. Timi Townsend

    It’s so great to have you back in the blogosphere and to see new magical hummingbirds, as well as your daughter. Your ‘birds were a great hit on the many Christmas gifts I gave which bore their images. Thank you for them! I hope that 2017 goes well and easily for you, Janet. Have a peaceful, productive day! 🙂

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good afternoon Timi, Yes, it’s good to be back….it will take some time to get all things in order, but am doing pretty well. Thank you so much for saying that the hummingbirds brought pleasure. That pleases me greatly. I am now looking forward to reading your posts and catching up with all the news. Wishing you a lovely day filled with much warmth and creativity….Janet:)

      Reply
      1. Timi Townsend

        I hope that you will take your time getting things in order–it can be such a daunting task, but approached with serenity, which I think you have an abundance of, can even be somewhat pleasurable! All the best to you. 🙂

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much dear Sarah…..We can now look towards the spring:) Also meant to say and will write more – love your Christmas card – really beautiful. Hope you mouth isn’t too soar. Keeps smiling:) Janet. xx

      Reply
  4. olganm

    Beautiful, Janet. It’s good you were together. I’ve been wondering about those things a lot of recent. I hope your year is full of colour and I’m sure you’ll manage to master podcasts and anything else you set your heart to. Hugs.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Dear Olga, Thank you so much – You have been on my mind a great deal of late, as I know you are the primary carer for your own Mother…who I hope is well at this time. Yes, it is a new year and a new beginning in many ways. I am feeling so much better, although I keep thinking -‘it’s time to go to the Nursing Home’ – and I am sure that this will be with me for quite some time to come. Sending you wishes for a healthy, happy and creative new year. I have your book ‘Escaping Psychiatry 2. – The Case of the Swapped Bodies’ on my kindle, and so now I look forward to reading it.
      Janet:)xx

      Reply
  5. Kate4grace

    Dear Janet,I missed the news about your mother.While it is a relief in some ways it is hard to live in a worlds where they no longer dwell.They have always been there for us and suddenly we lose them.I love all these posts you have written and your courage and creativity.Love ,Kathryn.xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Dear Kathryn, Thank you so much – I have to say that after such a long time, and during the past year it’s been very difficult for her – the relief is that she is now at peace and no longer has to suffer. It will take some adjustment….I keep thinking that I need to go and see her….and then of course I realise that I don’t. Christie’s visit and then our subsequent visit to Somerset with good friends was really perfect…..just what the doctor ordered, as we say…. I know you understand because you have experienced much loss….but as you well know, it is now time to move forward. It wont be too long before you are back in your garden again….enjoying spring weather:)xxx

      Reply
      1. Kate4grace

        Thank you,Janet.I have found writing helped me.But the more time you have spent with someone the worse it hurts.At least neither of us need feel guilty as we did all we could to help our dear ones.Even if what I write is not very good I stick at it like I would a job to create a structure for my day.I am sure your Art will be the same.I am interested you willmake podcasts or videos.I look forward to that.I recallI have told you, you were the first person who’s blog I saw and I was captivated immediately.In the Unconscious there is no time so while we acceot consciously we have to let the Unconscious take it own way to acceptance.I am sure your mother was very proud of you and were she able she’d praise your loving care for her.Even now I imagine I can smell the spring in the earth.xxxx

      2. janetweightreed10 Post author

        Good morning Kathryn, I love to hear what you say about your writing..treating it like a job. I have always done the same with my work. I believe so much in working to rhythms – and particularly those that chime with your body rhythms…whatever they happen to be. I am an early morning person and so feel like I can scale mountains from 6.30 a.m. til 2 p.m. and then mind and body go into a different mode:) They key is I understand that and work accordingly. Yes, time is an illusion, and so as I always like to say…basically life is all about taking it one minute at a time. Have a beautiful and creative day my friend. Janet. xxx

  6. IdealisticRebel

    You have a lovely blog and your art is very moving. Good luck on your new projects. I will be checking in with you from time to time. I am a photographer. I like your words, creative process and you remind me that I have to written about Creativity in a long while. Hugs, Barbara

    Reply
  7. Jet Eliot

    I am so glad to hear you of your new beginning, Janet, and enjoyed your paintings immensely. Your fluidity in life and art is a true inspiration. My best wishes to you in the tender days ahead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

