Achieving Mastery in Creative Work

I always enjoy David’s blog….and this one is no exception. Highly recommended. janet.

davidjrogersftw

david-youngWhen I was a little boy about eight or nine, I was playing in front of the TV in our Chicago apartment when an old black and white English movie came on.  I knew nothing about acting, though I had once played a tree in a skit. But there was one actor on the screen who I could see was remarkable. He was just different, unlike any of the other actors, though I couldn’t say how. But I could see that something special right there on the screen.

What he was doing, how he was acting, the impression he was making made me feel a sensation which I now know was awe. I realized I was watching an extraordinary accomplishment I had never seen in movies before, in my life before. I pointed at the man and said, “Who is that, Mom?” She was a movie buff, so she knew…

View original post 1,035 more words

10 thoughts on “Achieving Mastery in Creative Work

  1. Jet Eliot

    I so enjoyed David’s masterful essay and feel so fortunate to have found his blog through your earlier link. Thanks so much Janet. There is always so much beauty and wisdom that stems from your world, Janet, what a delight it is for me. I hope your week is going very well.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I am really pleased that I connected with David. I learn a great deal from his blogs and they remind me of things that I have forgotten, which is very important. Glad you enjoy as well…janet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

