Flying off with the hummingbirds….

As of tomorrow, I will be travelling, painting and writing….first in Cardiff, Wales for just a couple of days where I will  enjoy a friend’s birthday and a visit with my cousin.     Then back to London to pack…..and onto wonderful Olhao, Portugal for the rest of April….which means I will be back here in May with hopefully lots of new work and thoughts…..

watercolour/gouache20-11-15 - 1 (823)This year I will be spending the first week in Portugal painting and writing on my own, and then the group arrives for a week of creative adventure at the school in Alhao….http://www.artinthealgarve.comone of my favourite places.

Looking down into one of the courtyards from an upper balcony at the School……20-11-15 - 1 (186)I always take time  out from my on line activities when I go on my trips so that I can fully focus on observing, sketching and writing…..

Armona Island, just a hop, skip and a fifteen minute boat ride from the School….20-11-15 - 1 (128)Which means I wont be back here until the beginning of May…..20-11-15 - 1 (824)I wish one and all a beautiful April…..filled of course, with magical hummingbirds.

20-11-15 - 1 (819)A Bientôt

38 thoughts on “Flying off with the hummingbirds….

  1. Teagan Geneviene

    Dear Janet, thank you for this truly lovely collection of hummingbirds. Enjoy your magical April. It sounds like the life of which I dreamed as a teen, envisioning being an artist. How wondrous! Safe journeys my friend. Mega hummingbird hugs. ❤ 🙂

    Reply
  2. Timi Townsend

    How wonderful that you will be going on these trips! I am glad that you are going to be fully present on your travels and with your painting and friends. When I go to Iceland in May, I also will not be online, so that I can really soak up the experience of being PRESENT ELSEWHERE… ❤

    Reply
  3. snowbird

    Just LOVE your sweet little hummers, magic indeed. Have yourself a fabulous time, it sounds wonderful, you shall come home rejuvenated! xxx

    Reply
  4. Jet Eliot

    Your trip sounds wonderful, Janet, and I know how very much you enjoy the Portugal art school. I’ll be thinking of you creating and sharing your talents in this marvelous place, and am sending lots of happy smiles your way. Your paintings here, and photos too, are, as always, so lovely.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good afternoon from London…..Just returned from a wonderful trip to Portugal…will be sharing about it soon….and responding to your posts. Hope all is well in your world. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  5. davidjrogersftw

    I think you have a wonderful life. The places you visit are so inviting and the work they inspire is beautiful..I’m looking forward with eager anticipation to seeing the work you’ll produce. Your work like that in the post is consistently fine and lovely–the sign of the master who has refined her art and cannot possibly do bad work even if she tried.to. By the way, I was thinking earlier today (it is 3:00 a,m, so it was quite early) that in addition to your art I’ve always enjoy hearing about your memories of your life here in America. I’d like to hear more. Weather here cloudy, rainy but warming up. My beloved baseball season is in full swing and my Cubs are in first place. So all is well with you and me too. Have a great month.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good afternoon from London – just returned from a wonderful time in Portugal….will write all about it soon…..it has been great reading your last two posts….which I will respond to in time…..Happy baseball season…janet 🙂

      Reply
  6. janetweightreed10 Post author

    Good morning Ka…and thank you for your lovely comment. Having returned…and had a wonderful time…I just posted my first blog giving an overview of the stay and this coming week there will be another. Hummingbird symbolise for the ‘the unseen magic’ in our world…..hope you are enjoying a lovely weekend…janet 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

