Total Concentration: The Heart and Soul of Creative Work: Part Two

Another gem from David Rogers. This post ties in beautifully with my last post ‘A Day at the School in Olhao’ – where I speak about honing observational skills….so that we can actually ‘see’ what we are looking at…..Enjoy Janet

davidjrogersftw

A heart surgeon was performing a delicate operation when large chunks of the ceiling came crashing down all around him. People in the operating room screamed, the noise was deafening. But the surgeon was so concentrated on

the surgery that he didn’t notice.  When your creator’s mind is as deeply on the act of creation as it should be when you are painting, writing, dancing, acting, like that surgeon you will be aware of nothing else. You will look up and see that your friend has been talking to you and you didn’t notice or that rain is coming in the window that has blown open while you worked. You won’t hear blaring music from the apartment next door.

Creative people often notice that if their ability to concentrate while they are working is poor, their work is also poor, but that if their concentration is good, their work is…

View original post 1,363 more words

22 thoughts on “Total Concentration: The Heart and Soul of Creative Work: Part Two

  1. Doc Kandinsky

    This can also work the other way around. In my personal case its the act of painting or drawing that allows me to concentrate. Time passes fast and I noticed that I watch less and less TV these days.
    This is a bit bizarre to me because I am also fan of mindfulness and there’s a big difference between the 2 ways of being concentrated. In fact meditation is a voluntary act of getting focused on the present instant whereas the concentration I experience through artwork is very much an unaware state of mind. I guess that they are complementary to each other.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you for this. I agree with you that it can work both ways…and like you I often need to start the process of painting which will then lead me to a place of concentration and focus. I believe the healing element to painting and other creative endeavours is in this moving to a space where the awareness of time has vanished. Time is all about the logical world….and so to erase it for a period is to enter into an almost other dimension, which I like very much 🙂

      Reply
      1. Doc Kandinsky

        I agree and painting also heals by creating a physical print of your emotional state. Your emotions are right there in front of you. They exist and thus you exist. Have a wonderful day Janet

  2. Teagan Geneviene

    I’m afraid I’d always hear the blaring music, or fighting, and all the other stuff from next door! 😀 But I agree with the spirit of his article. Nicely done, Robert. Thanks for sharing, Janet. Hummingbird hugs!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Teagan…I am so sorry to hear that you have disruptive neighbours….that is not good. The sooner the hummingbirds find your place in the sun the better. xxx

      Reply
      1. Teagan Geneviene

        I can’t argue with that, Janet. 😀 Hummingbird assistance is always welcome. I just had to laugh at myself (with my noise sensitivity) and my reaction to David’s description of the clamor of the scenes. Humming bird hugs.

  3. davidjrogersftw

    Janet, thank you for reblogging my post on creative concentration. I can see your friends are looking at it. Very kind of you. So interesting the way you and I seem to be thinking of the same things at the same time.

    Reply
  4. Mary

    Wonderful post Janet. I find that is to true about concentrating, in fact sometimes my husband could be walking into my studio and standing right next to me talking and I’ll have not heard a word he said. I missed your prior post, but so appropriate for me because I can struggle with being able to see what is really there and not what I think is there.

    Reply
  5. dianarog11

    Janet–I am celebrating a “big” birthday in a couple of weeks, and last night my brother and his partner gave me a birthday gift. David and I had raved so much about you and your work that they knew I would love to have a piece of your artwork, so they gave me a beautiful print on metal of one of your hummingbirds. Needless to say, I was thrilled.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Dear Diana, thank you so much for this lovely comment. It always pleases me to know that someone else is happy with one of my images. I wish you a very happy birthday and may you be surrounded with Magical Hummingbirds….Janet 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

