50 thoughts on “How does the creative process work?

  1. Doc Kandinsky

    Hi Janet . Thanks so much for sharing this. My creative process is very close to yours. And colors play a tremendously important role in it. Kandinsky said that color created a resonance in us and art can thus at moments make the human soul vibrate. I love that idea of soul vibrations because it’s really what I resent.
    That’s why I feel that what we actually do is paint our emotions.
    Have a wonderful day.
    Uwe

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning and thank you so much for this comment. Here’s to showing our feelings and emotions through the joy of colour and form. Have a lovely weekend…janet 🙂

      Reply
  2. Mary

    Janet, your gentle reminder that creative play is the entry to bringing our vision into focus is the message that I needed to hear. You’ve given me the nudge and inspiration ~ I look forward to having fun creating without restraint today.

    Reply
  3. Writing to Freedom

    Beautiful paintings Janet! And I love hearing about your creative process, seeding ideas and using play to nurture them. 🙂 May I use one of these images to create a poem for my blog?

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Brad….thank you for this lovely comment, and I would be honoured if you use one of the images for your poem…..which I look forward to reading…Have a wonderful weekend…Janet 🙂

      Reply
  4. snowbird

    Just loving seeing how your moments of inspiration work, they always end in radiance! Beautiful, beautiful painting! A treat to visit, as always.xxx

    Reply
  5. whitefeatherfloating

    Janet, you and a few others have been encouraging me all week long with words of hope and inspiration! I am planning to sit at my desk and play with my watercolors this weekend! I have been doing other stuff, and some drawing, but it has been too long since I just played with any paint! Thanks so much for all you share. Your hummingbirds are gorgeous!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning and thank you for this lovely comment. We all need encouragement at times, and so I have given you some…it pleases me greatly. Hope you enjoy a weekend filled with colour and creativity….Janet 🙂 x

      Reply
      1. whitefeatherfloating

        You’re welcome. I’ll take encouragement any time! 😉 I have been pretty busy this weekend going to a writer’s forum (a local group) meeting where I got to share my first picture book which is still in progress and I got a new phone so I have been busy downloading apps and syncing everything! Very time-consuming. But today I am taking pictures of my picture book so I can put the whole thing on my blog at some point. I hope you’re having a great weekend! 🙂

  6. Gabe Burkhardt

    Janet I continue to be amazed by your colorful and vivid watercolors/gauche paintings. And I can see a bit of the source in your encouraging words. Cheers for sharing your gift with us

    Reply
  7. davidjrogersftw

    Yes, Janet, I like your idea that the more we exercise our creativity, the more second nature it becomes. The time between idea and execution becomes shorter and shorter with constant, constant painting or writing, I think. And along with it, confidence grows stronger, doesn’t it? I so enjoyed this post, the writing and the painting, and all those lovely Janet Weight Reed colors.Thank you.

    We are enjoying the hummingbird print on metal that Diana received as a birthday gift. It makes us think of you.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi David…hope you are enjoying a lovely weekend….and I am delighted that you and Diana now own one of the hummingbirds on metal…it pleases me a great deal 🙂 Yes, there’s no question that practise and a constant exercising of our skills is the key to all things creative. The more we put out, the more we receive back…..Janet 🙂

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much and do enjoy….I believe that when we encompass creativity into our lives on a daily basis we change everything including are emotional and physical health. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  8. blindloveweb

    You unknowingly painting vibrancy which is automatically bringing happiness seeing to it.grt work,very few people cd be artistic to this very limit which cd deliver utmost happiness!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

