Remain in the simplicity of the present moment.

Do not encumber your mind with useless thoughts.   What good does it do to brood on the past or anticipate the future?   Remain in the simplicity of the present moment….From the book Buddhist Offerings 

watercolour20-11-15 - 1 (1070)

During the past few weeks, I have been reminded of the importance of remaining in the simplicity of the present moment.

My Aunt Peggy was one of those people who seemingly always lived this way.      Recently, aged 97 and receiving hospice care, she succumbed and passed on.      Given that I am her only surviving relative, I am currently involved in organising her funeral which means I will be away from here for a while longer.

Aunt Peggy as a young woman. til August 10 151I have been surrounded with strong, and unusual woman all my life – from my Grandmothers, to my Mother and Aunt Peggy.

Peggy had a great influence on my life.    When I was just three years old and visiting my Grandmother in London, I saw one of Peggy’s sketch books, and it was at that moment that I knew I would be an artist.

I never heard her complain or say anything negative about others.    She always encouraged me.      I feel blessed to have had her in my life.

Peggy at 96P1140070 Nearly ten years ago, Peggy lost her only son, my cousin James – aged 57….and although I know it hurt her terribly she never complained.      Although Peggy was not a religious woman in the conventional sense, she was deeply spiritual and believed that eventually she and James would be reunited…..

I anticipate being away from here for the next two weeks at least…..and during that time, I plan to surround myself and Peggy with magical hummingbirds…..She would like that:)20-11-15-1-71A Benton

60 thoughts on “Remain in the simplicity of the present moment.

  1. Tish Farrell

    What a strong and lovely woman your aunt looks, and I can see you look like her too. I’m sorry for your sad loss, but thinking of you too surrounded by the spirits of the elder wise women who have meant so much in your life. Take care.

    Reply
  2. Teagan Geneviene

    Dear Janet, you have my sincere condolences. What an inspiring person! Your hummingbirds here are a celebration of her life. I love the old photo — i see a strong family resemblance. Hummingbird hugs my friend. ❤

    Reply
  3. Bushka

    My profound condolences, Janet! Through you and your posts I shall have fond memories of ‘Aunt Peggy’. This is a wonderful little tribute to your beloved Aunt. You will carry with you lasting imprints of her presence…to be sure. Take Care! Love and Hugs!🤗🤗🤗💕💕💕

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you dear Bushka. Yes, Peggy was a wonderful person. The funeral will be on the 27th…and so will start to get back to some normalcy next month. Hope you are enjoying a lovely summer. Janet xx

      Reply
  4. memadtwo

    So wonderful to have a person like that in your life. A space to fill with memories and the inspiration she gave you. Sending all best thoughts. (K)

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you dear Sarah. The funeral is on the 27th – next week, and so after that I can begin to get back to some normalcy again. What an inspiration she has been for me….I am most grateful…xx

      Reply
  5. Jet Eliot

    A lovely tribute to your Aunt Peggy, Janet, and all the strong and influential women in your life. The quote and sentiment here are beautiful, and grounding; it is easy to see your plans and send-off will be warm and profound. The hummingbirds, as always, are joyful and brilliant. My best wishes to you–

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you dear Jet. Yes, my Aunt has been a huge inspiration in my life…..Funeral next Thursday and so after that I will be back here more often again. Thinking of you in California with the hummingbirds….- Janet 🙂

      Reply
  6. Kate Thwaite

    Oh,so sorry another loss has come so soon.I hope you can live in the hour and not be dragged down by dark thoughts.As you say, you know the practical side but the emotions must have their outlet perhaps in some paintings of the scenes of your childhood.My warmest wishes and love Kathryn

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you dear Kathryn….I am painting a little every day which is keeping me grounded. The funeral is next week and so after that I wlll be here more often….janet x

      Reply
      1. Kate Thwaite

        I am glad you are painting.I find it helps to keep up a few of the normal activities whilst also relaxing with music or walking in gardens.You’ve had to wait quite a long time which I did.Afterwards there will be some relief but also the sadness has its own time.Work redrawing the maps on
        the brain as she is your last relative in that age group.I am sure the funeral will help you when you are with other people.Love.:)xxxx

      2. janetweightreed10 Post author

        It is of vital importance. My Aunt requested that her funeral be held at the North East Surrey crematorium, because both her son and husband’s funeral were there…..As there is only one chapel, it meant waiting longer than normal….but the important thing is that Aunt Peggy’s wishes be acknowledged. It is somewhat strange to know that I am the last surviving relative. It focuses the mind, and so as soon as the funeral is over I will have my own will updated…..having organised two funerals in the last seven months, it has confirmed to me that my affairs must all be in order for my own children…..all part of the passage of life. Thank you so much for your understanding…sending love in your direction…janet xxx

  7. Gabe Burkhardt

    I’m very sorry to hear about your cousin.
    I hope your time with Peggy is filled with color and life and the simplicity of the present moment that you describe so well.

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Remain in the simplicity of the present moment. — My Life as an Artist (2) — До каждого с миром!

  9. snowbird

    Ahhhh, bless her. So sorry for your loss, I can see the resemblance to you though. Not all surprised that you were surrounded by strong women, being one yourself. I hope all goes as well as can be expected. Huge hugs.xxx

    Reply
  10. davidjrogersftw

    I am sure Aunt Peggy was very proud of you, Janet, and enjoyed your work and looked forward to your visits. I’m so happy for you that you took the time to honor her with this short, gentle, lovely little post with its bright colors that so celebrate the magnificence of life..

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you David for this lovely comment. I have been so fortunate to have such an Aunt…who has been a great inspiration for me. The funeral is next week….and then I will be back here more often….Hope you are enjoying the summer. Janet

      Reply
  11. cm writes

    I was reading the comments on my site and I came across yours. First, I am sorry to hear of your loss. Second, I did not know your loved one but you don’t have to know someone to feel their pain.
    You expressed your loved one in few words, but those were enough to say everything.
    My best wishes to you as you work your way through; using your talents.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      good morning and thank you so much for this beautiful comment. There is no question that my painting keeps me grounded – as I often write…it is the key to my ’emotional, physical and spiritual’ wellbeing. Wishing you a beautiful weekend….Janet x

      Reply
  12. davidjrogersftw

    Janet, thank you for your tender tribute To Aunt Peggy. Such a good woman. I like her very much. I appreciate your reminder of the inestimable value of our present moments. We in the west–I–spend so much time thinking of what will happen in decades and years and months, even days or hours, so carelessly neglecting those precious moments, each one of which has a single purpose, it seems to me.

    You know me. You know that like you I believe that a single insight in a single moment can set us off in a new and fulfilling direction we will follow henceforth, as seeing Aunt Peggy’s sketch book when you were such a little girl inspired you to follow a creative life. And just look at you now.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning David, Thank you so much for this. I have been thinking about you and Pat as she begins her retirement. I hope that you are both enjoying a wonderful summer. I have two posts of yours in my in box – I have read them once, but now need to take the time to digest properly….which I will do this morning. Yes, the ‘single insight’ – can change the course of ones life….Seeing the sketch book of Peggy’s was a moment I can re create perfectly within my mind’s eye, and it is one that I will never forget. I am now looking forward to the next chapter….and can already feel my creative juices bursting at the seems 🙂 I am off to Wales on the 21st for a few days…..where of course I will think of you. Hope you are enjoying a glorious weekend….here in London it’s perfect weather for me. About 65 degrees F. mostly sunny with some clouds…my kind of weather. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  13. davidjrogersftw

    Janet, it seems to me that your creative juices have been going crazy for the last six months of a new outpouring of energy. It is inspiring for me to read about it and see the results of. I am getting ready to write a post about “over-excitabilty and intensity” that distinguish some people (most creative people, I think) from others. Clearly, you are one of them.The summer weather here has been wonderful, wonderful interspersed with wild rain storms. I’ve always loved walking in the rain. But some of these recent rains you would drown if walking in them. I hope you will enjoy your visit to Wales. You tell me it’s a beautiful country. We hope to go there one day and see the places my father told me about and loved.

    Reply
  14. freespiritedartist

    Your Aunt was very beautiful, both young and old. I am very sorry for your loss. She seems like such a true blessing to have had in your life. Always encouraging is the only way to be. There’s always that one defining person and defining moment which changes our lives forever. For me, it’s a friend who lives almost two thousand miles away. She was the reason I finally decided to pursue art. Continue to count your blessings and make beautiful images!

    Reply
  15. janetweightreed10 Post author

    Thank you very much for this lovely comment. I am pleased to hear that you had such a defining moment….we are most fortunate, and yes I do count my blessings every day. Have a beautiful and creative weekend…janet 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

