How Creators Benefit from Teachers

Another superb post from David Rogers – reminding us all of the importance of good and inspirational teachers. David’s posts always re-awaken in me thoughts and ideas…..which are is all part of the never ending learning experience of life and the creative process……Janet

davidjrogersftw

Colorful abstract paintingIn college I had a brilliant professor of creative writing–he was dazzling. After class one day I said to him, “You know everything about literature and writing. Your analysis of works is something to behold, and you’re able to tell students how specifically to improve their work. But as far as I can tell you’ve never produced any creative writing yourself. Have you?

“No.”

“Why not?”

“Because I have no talent.”

He didn’t have the talent his students did have, but his students didn’t have the knowledge he had, and that’s what we were there to acquire so we would have both talent and knowledge.

A painter will not automatically improve her performance by painting more. A writer’s performance won’t improve simply by further writing. To ratchet up their performance they will have to make changes designed specifically to develop it to a higher level. One major change is to…

View original post 1,252 more words

18 thoughts on “How Creators Benefit from Teachers

  1. mysticpoetry

    Hi I agree obviously as tender young people we cannot evaluate our talents as we have little life experience .All we need is a little positive push and a human really does not know how creative they are !

    Reply
  2. Pingback: How Creators Benefit from Teachers — My Life as an Artist (2) — С любовью к людям!

  3. Jet Eliot

    Thanks for this shot in the arm, Janet. David’s post was wonderful. I have missed you, I’m glad to “see” you. Will catch up on what I’ve missed, always a pleasure. Cheers!

    Reply
  4. Sharon Dear

    I think this is a great post. I know I won’t do anything great but I will keep trying. My brother’s mother is dead now and can’t ridicule everything that I do anymore, but I still can hear her. Thanks for this post.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you for your comment and never underestimate yourself….I am sure you will do all sorts of great things in your life. The worst thing we can have is someone who puts us down….even worse is when we believe them! Be creative, put the past behind you and enjoy and flourish. Janet 🙂

      Reply
      1. mysticpoetry

        I dont even think its about the finished piece of work its the energy that goes into it and the peace that comes out of it that is important.Its not about its commercial worth or likes value its what led you to create something in the first place.Negative comments from the past should have no value if you value your own creative energy.

Leave a Reply

