Creativity – Use it or lose it….

I attended a gathering this week where I was asked what kind of art I made.    This is a loaded question and one I often find difficult to answer.       I said I love colour and believe that the creative process in all its forms is the key to emotional, physical and spiritual wellbeing.      I was then asked if I thought everyone had a desire to create.   My answer was a resounding – yes.

This years visit to the Royal Academy Summer Exhibition. 6ABA8BCB-D0B8-40B2-859B-17819F7B2564After returning home I thought more about my response.

Our inborn creativity has to be nurtured in the same way that we care for our minds and bodies.      For example, if we allowed one of our limbs to shrivel and atrophy  – we would always be aware of the many things we might have done with the full use of that limb.       It is much the same with creativity.     Not to use it in one form or another, brings frustration often accompanied by a sense of loss.   A loss that in many ways we are unable to identify.     Use it or lose it really does apply. 

Jayanthi Rani at the Royal Academy Summer Exhibition 20-11-15 - 1 (1131)This beautiful watercolour was painted by Jayanthi Rani who I met five years ago when she came to my painting course in Portugal….and since then it has been my great privilege to watch her work blossom and grow.       You can see more of Jayanthi’s work on her FB page. 25FD0122-DEE0-4FCF-A3C4-22A8C3D69E8AIt seems to me that as we try to fill the ever widening holes within as our collective senses are being deadened through the over use of technology, our frustration levels grow and the need for a creative outlet even more acute.

 

Nurturing my little cottage garden in Wales from a barren, fallow patch, was a creative project I loved.       til August 10 1037Cooking, sewing, knitting, writing, dance, music – I could go on and on.     When I observe people using a myriad of creative disciplines – I see people who in that moment feel a sense of contentment and wellbeing.

I am off to Crickhowell, Wales (AKA The Magical Town of Crickadoon) on Monday and will hopefully return with lots of new ideas and sketches.

For now I leave you with a happy moment from last year along with a watercolour of the beautiful Use Valley.

17353562_10155013949100396_7123396617463630765_n

20-11-15 - 1 (267)

A Bientôt

73 thoughts on “Creativity – Use it or lose it….

  1. Doc Kandinsky

    Hi Janet
    As always I totally agree with you about creativity and I am sad to see that the school system in France is so much counterproductive when it comes to teach art. Children naturally express creativity as soon as they can hold a color pen. Then come in the rules and the grades and little by little they stop.
    So not only creativity needs to be nurtured but it has to be revealed to many people who simply forgot they had it inside. And often these people who suddenly remember are the ones who get the most out of it, don’t they.
    PS what a wonderful landscape!
    Cheers

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Lovely to hear from you….I think that many school systems lack when it comes to teaching creative thinking. As you say children are natural creatives until rules and grades are put into place – rules that often instil a sense of fear and competition. Creative thinking helps in all subjects and so regardless whether or not a young person wants to focus on the arts, creative thinking will help them in every area of their lives. I am now looking forward to some more landscape painting in beautiful Wales. Hope your painting is going well….I look forward to catching up with your posts. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  2. Bushka

    All too true, Janet! Blossoming of Creativity brings colour into our lives…whatever the ‘medium’ of expression. Have a Super time in Wales. Hugs! ❤

    Reply
  3. Ben Aqiba

    Great picture Janet,

    My sister in law is a brilliant painter and she graduated from the Academy of art, but she is to lazy, and her talent fades slightly.

    Thank you

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      An interesting observation, because this can so sadly be the case. Some of the most talented people I have known find it difficult to focus and bring consistency to their work. Thank you so much for your comment. Janet

      Reply
  4. jpennerzook

    I agree wholeheartedly. Nurturing every creative avenue in ourselves not only serves as a growth agent for us, but spreads life and hope outward. Enjoy your time away. – Julia

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you Julia….A very good point. Given that all of life is interconnected….by nurturing our own creativity we encourage and inspire others…..often without even knowing it. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  5. Bonnie Halsey-Dutton

    So aptly said: it is a good reminder that in many things, creativity included, one must “use it or risk loosing it”! I too often take my own artistic creativity for granted, putting it on a “shelf” for later… and WHY?!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Bonnie….We all need to overcome human nature….which is to take things for granted. I suppose that’s why I find it better to work within structures.
      You and I have discussed at length how when we are in a creative flow….we feel so much better on all levels. We need to keep reminding ourselves of this. Thank you so much for comment…Janet 🙂

      Reply
  6. Erin Lightheart

    This is so great to read. I’ve had this view of myself that “I’m not a creative person”. And yet, I am creative on a daily basis in my cooking and in the time I spend with my twins (1-year-old). Reading this has me see there are some avenues of creativity I would like to explore, and that I’ve been not pursuing those only because “I’m not a creative person”. So I’m gonna give up that story about myself, and look for ways to practice my visual creativity. =)

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Dear Erin….How lovely to see you here. Your comment makes my day. Yes please do give up any negative thoughts you have about not being a creative person…..I would suggest you begin by writing a list every morning of the creative things you enjoy doing and would like to do that day. At the end of the day see how many of those things you did…..and note how you are feeling. The twins will love it:)

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you so much Margaret. You are a wonderful example of someone who uses their creativity. As I have followed your watercolour painting, I see it grow in so many ways….and it is because you are using your creative expression all the time. Happy painting….janet 🙂

      Reply
  7. First Night Design

    I adore the landscape! Your words are so important. I also find that my mood starts to sink if there’s too long a gap between creating one thing and the next. Have a magical time in your magical town. Forgive me if you did visit it, but if not, I’d love you to look at Bembridge Lifeboat Station, which is my latest piece and of which I’m very fond: https://firstnightdesign.wordpress.com/2017/07/21/first-night-design-bembridge-lifeboat-station-art-new/. 🙂 xx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Dear Sarah, – Thank you for this insightful comment…so true.
      I have taken a good look at the Bembridge Lifeboat Station and it is really beautiful. I can’t wait to see it in person. I could imagine a lot of Bembridge lovers wanting this image….along with people who have never actually been there. It has a very dreamy quality to it.
      I am looking forward to Wales and then the Isle of Wight – not long now. Janet 🙂 xx

      Reply
  8. Myra (Artist. Author. Lover)

    Every love in this life is an art! So then why would we not want to create and be curious!

    Reply
  9. Sharon Dear

    Thank you. Your water color I wish I had the talent because they leave me in awe. I agree with you and must say that I truly am happiest when I am creating something new. Whether it is a sweater, I crochet for a granddaughter or a fancy dress I sew for her and an identical one for the life size Raggedy Ann doll I created for her to play with.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Sharon. Thank you for this lovely comment. I would love to be able to crochet or knit a sweater – such a wonderful form of creativity. As far as making a fancy dress…I used to love doing that when my children were younger….I am always at my happiest when creating something. Have a beautiful day. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  10. Clarence

    I totally agree with this article. If I’m gonna choose between digital or traditional, I still chose the manual. I love how the paint stay on my hands. Anyway, I love where you’re painting. I love the scenery. I think I just love this article that it gave me thrill to appreciate every content

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Clarence….thank you so much for this comment. I agree with you, I like to feel the paint on my hands and if I am gardening the smell of the earth around me and on me 🙂 I think it’s a good idea to marry the two disciplines of digital and traditional….in that way we don’t lose tight of one or the other. Hope you enjoy a creative day….Janet 🙂

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good evening Clare, Thank you for this lovely comment which I thought I had responded to but seemingly not. I really appreciate what you say. Wishing you a very lovely and creative weekend. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  11. Jeyran Main

    I just wanted to drop you a line to let you know that I have nominated you for the ‘one lovely blog’ award. If you wish to tag back, that is up to you. Thank you for always dropping by and I appreciate the support.

    Reply
  12. Pingback: Creativity — Use it or lose it…. — My Life as an Artist (2) — С любовью к людям!

  13. Emma Jane Healey

    Your watercolour is amazing, the colour palette works so well! I agree with you I think it’s so important to have a creative outlet. I always have to have a creative project on the go!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning. I painted this just outside of Crickhowell on top of one of the hills overlooking the Usk Valley – looking towards the Glen Usk Estate and Brecon. I did quite a few others at the same time…..trying to capture the ever changing light. Thank you Janet :)xx

      Reply
  14. I am Aranab

    I was first introduced to this concept by author James Altucher in form of working your idea muscle by writing 10 ideas everyday about absolutely anything. And then i went a step further and I would just draw anything that is infront of me. The fact is I am very artistically creatively challenged. And it takes a lot of hard work for me to get even the basic of a drawing. And so far since I have started on and off [ractice I must say I have gotten 1% better than I was at the beginning of the year.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I would say that 1% is good….it’s moving in the right direction. I would also say – don’t give up – keep doing the daily exercises and then out of the blue something will click….I promise you this, but you must stick with it. Make it as much a part of you day as breathing, or eating 🙂 Have a lovely and creative weekend…Janet 🙂

      Reply
  15. snowbird

    How I agree with you! Technology is consuming people more and more. I love your Welsh garden, I now have to recreate my back one, it will be a slow process but a pleasant one. I love that painting by Jayanthi, the little dogs are amazing. Your painting is just beautiful too….have a marvelous break.xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Hi Dear Dina…..thank you so much for the comment. I know you live a life filled with creativity and it shows in everything you do and who you are. I note from your last past that your new garden plan is coming along beautifully. Have a wonderful weekend…Janet 🙂 xxx

      Reply
  16. floatinggold

    I wouldn’t be so quick to say: “Yes” if you asked me if everyone had the desire to create.
    However, I am a strong believer in “use it or lose it” from personal experience!

    Reply
  17. Jet Eliot

    I so enjoyed pondering art and life with you here, Janet. There are so many ways to explore our inner thoughts and expressions, and what a joy it is to observe it in others too. I really like Jayanthi Rani’s watercolor and its expression of warmth in community. I also really like the photos here, the exhibit. I remember the video you made of your painting of the Use Valley, and of course the Valley painting itself. A post filled with the beauty and complexities of expression. Have fun in Crickadoon, sounds like a marvelous place.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning dear Jet and happy first day of Autumn….I have just returned from beautiful Wales and so will be back on line again next week. It has been such a special visit…probably much enhanced because I feel free – and can allow myself the joy of thinking about many more trips like this to come – including visits to the USA. France etc. I will be catching up with your posts soon….meanwhile sending magical hummingbirds in your direction….Janet 🙂

      Reply
      1. Jet Eliot

        Lovely to hear from you, Janet, and so glad to hear you enjoyed your trip and arrived home safely, with glorious freedom for future flights of fancy. Many thanks–

  18. Teagan R. Geneviene

    Dear Janet, I could have sworn I commented on this beautiful post. But I was probably at work, so it may have gotten lost in the mines of Mordor! 😉
    Though I’m late in saying it, you are so very right. As Albert Einstein said “Imagination is more important than knowledge. Knowledge is limited. Imagination encircles the world.” Hugs on the wing!

    Reply
  19. inesephoto

    I cannot even imagine what the world would be like if people suddenly lost their creativity. It would be a death of everything.
    Beautiful landscape, I am absolutely in love with this painting.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I totally agree with you….creativity is the one thing that keeps beauty and sanity in a world that in my opinion sees to have tipped over the edge ! Glad you like the landscape…and wishing you a beautiful autumn weekend….Janet 🙂 x

      Reply
  20. Anthony Taylor

    Use it or lose it is definitely in effect when it comes to creativity. As a kid I use to day dream and playout these fantasies in my head. I had to get them out somehow, but my art talent was lacking. I had to depend on words to get my visions out. Thus, a writer was born. Now I hone my talents with my blog and a notebook I take with me. Thanks for sharing your experience and the thought of all this, with us. Take care, lovely.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you Anthony for this lovely comment. Like you, I carry a note/sketchbook with me everywhere I go… I am very glad to hear that you persevered with your writing and will look forward to seeing your blog. Janet 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

