‘I’ve Got a Ticket to Ryde’…and remembering a much simpler time.

On my Lambretta scooter in 1965 (the same year that the Beatles wrote the song – ‘I’ve got a ticket to Ride’)   My friend Maureen is on the back.   She and I went to art college together and shared a flat in London.      til August 10 142I have just purchased a ticket to Ryde on the Isle of Wight, where I will be spending some time with fellow blogger and artist, Sarah Vernon – ‘First Night Design’.     The last time I visited the Isle of Wight it was on this scooter in 1965!

But first I would like to tell you a story about my Lambretta scooter which points out how different the world was in 1965,

First of all no license or helmet was needed.    This was long before ‘heath and safety’.     Finding a puncture in the petrol tank I went to the local garage where I was told to chew bubble gum and then plug up the hole – which I did.    I drove all the way to the Isle of Wight and back on that scooter…and it was fine.      This time around, I will be travelling by train and of course ferry from the mainland to the Island.

This photograph was taken the same year – with Maureen and another friend in front of what was then the  newly opened Commonwealth Institute in Kensington.    It has just been re-opened as the New Design Museum. 

10670209_10152680599905396_1355250299185033968_n

Those were heady days.     It was a fun time to be young in London and indeed Europe….Hope abounded.

The era of materialistic madness had not yet descended….expectations were of a different kind and consequently for the most part people were much more content.    

Hitchhiking and Youth hosteling around Europe was considered normal for young people.      A holiday could mean, stomping grapes in Italy or staying at the very basic newly emerging Club Med camps scattered around Europe.       In short it was a much simpler life.

watercolour/gouache20-11-15 - 1 (764)After visiting the Isle of Wight and Sarah, I then return to the mainland (Dorset) where I will stay with Maureen.

I will of course take camera and sketch book…..

Magical Hummingbirds as always will accompany  me……

20-11-15 - 1 (518)

A Bientôt

64 thoughts on “‘I’ve Got a Ticket to Ryde’…and remembering a much simpler time.

  1. Teagan R. Geneviene

    What a delightful post to start my day, Janet. I remember that photo of you and your two friends. It embodies the spirit of the times. Ticket to Ride was one of my favorite songs as a little girl, Day Tripper ran a close second. Did you ever hear a ballad cover of “Ticket” that the Carpenters did?
    I love the scooter photo and memory. I had an old mustang that every time I stopped the battery connectors would loosen (from being old). A gas station guy told me to give the spot a whack with a hammer — worked like a charm. These days are indeed so very different in every way… So thanks for sending the magical hummingbirds to lift us up! Have a thriving Thursday!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Teagan, – Yes, I did hear the Carpenter’s version of Ticket….very beautiful. I love the old remedies that we were given by garage mechanics….and I love your story about the hammer…it made me laugh 🙂 These days, It feels that life has become ‘homogenised’. I like the idea of a bit of dirt, bashing cars with a hammer, and generally relaxing more 🙂 Have a beautiful weekend my friend. xxx

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning. One of these days I will go through the albums and sort out more pictures. I am very grateful that I have so many pictures from the past…..I have put them all into big albums so that when I kick the bucket my children will be able to pick them up easily.:) Have a lovely weekend…Janet

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you for the comment K…I think that we are most fortunate to have lived at that time. I am very much looking forward to being with Sarah next week…and to see the IOW for the first time in so many years. I am sure my next blog will have many pictures. Enjoy the weekend…Janet 🙂 x

      Reply
  2. Joe McDonald

    Oh Janet, I loved your story and was Part of the Beatles craze, that was one of my favorite songs they wrote! You had ( the 60’s rocked) an amazing journey and still more to come except in a much more complex world we live in these days! I miss talking to you from a friend on the other side of the pond!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Brad….I am definitely attracted to slower, more rural places…and of course the Isle of Wight also has a beautiful coastline. I am sure my next blog will be filled with pictures and thoughts. Have a lovely weekend. Hummingbird Hugs. Janet 🙂 x

      Reply
  3. Pingback: ‘I’ve Got a Ticket to Ryde’…and remembering a much simpler time. | My Life as an Artist (2) | First Night Design

  4. Margaret Parker Brown

    I always love viewing your photos from “back when” they make me feel nostalgic, and they have nothing to do with me, so funny. I love your hummingbird paintings, especially the last one, so joyous. Looking forward to your next post. Cheers!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Stevie, I am sure Sarah will tell me all about the scooters! I remember really loving the island when visited as a child and of course on my last visit on the scooter….but it has been many years, and so am very interested to see how it is and of course to spend time with Sarah. I note that you and she have sparked up a conversation…which is great. Maybe you will connect on the Island. Have a lovely weekend…janet 🙂

      Reply
      1. Stevie Turner

        Thanks Janet. Yes, we’re hoping to meet up when I next visit in about a month’s time. Wish I could live in our holiday home permanently, but we both need the Internet to be able to work.

    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Andrea….most of the time I would have been in paint gear…however, Maureen designs and at that time made the most beautiful clothes. She made the coat I am wearing in the picture and her outfit. We had so much fun in those days,. I am really looking forward to the Isle of Wight and will report with pictures etc. on my next blog. Have a lovely weekend. Janet x

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Dear Olga, I was just saying to Andrea….that most of the time in those days I would have been found in painting gear, however Maureen designed and at that time made beautiful clothes, including the coat I am wearing and her outfit. It is interesting that it all looks quite contemporary. I do hope all is well with you and your Mother….and still look forward to the day we meet in person, somewhere in Europe. Have a wonderful weekend…Janet 🙂 x

      Reply
  5. Timi Townsend

    Have a wonderful time, Janet! ❤ I too remember those simpler days. I especially remember hitchhiking around Northern California where I lived north of San Francisco, and no one was afraid to do so (although I did prefer women drivers). In my twenties, I could fit everything except my guitar into a large backpack and flew student standby, a wonderful way to go, not only for the greatly reduced fares, but also the excitement of not knowing whether I'd get a seat or not and sometimes if I didn't I'd just change my destination to a flight that did have seats. Those were the days! 🙂 i love your photos and as always yours magical hummingbirds, especially this painting which features so many of the happy creatures! ❤

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning Timi, Oh yes indeed, those were the days my friend 🙂 I used to love hitchhiking – all over Europe and like you carried a small backpack…stayed mostly in Youth Hostels which were fantastic. Everyone was given chores for each day you were there, and for that you stayed in very interesting and beautifully located places (old castles included) and were well fed. For the most part you could only stay for three nights in each Hostel…and then you had to move on…supposedly on foot, canoe or bike…however, most people added hitchhiking to that. The cost was minimal…..I really feel that young people today miss out from not experiencing this kind of freedom. We are so fortunate to have this has part of our memory bank. Enjoy a lovely weekend….Janet 🙂 x

      Reply
  6. Doc Kandinsky

    Wonderful Lambretta Janet and beautiful magical birds. Peace, Love and Flowerpower were Indeed the better version of the blue planet …

    Reply
  7. Mary

    I have a feeling that this trip will be one for the books – many old memories, many new memories to be made and just the specialness of what is. Love your thoughts behind 1965 (the photographs for sure) and in comparison to today, a sadness around the edges – look at what has become, there is no turning back. Only uncertainty of going forward. Have a wonderful holiday with Sarah and Maureen ~

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you Mary….I will write a blog about it when I return….am so looking forward to seeing Sarah and Maureen and the Isle of Wight after so many years. You have a good weekend…Janet 🙂

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      HI Dear Dina….The IOW was absolutely lovely…like going back in time, and I was able to use my London bus pass all over the Island 🙂 It would be a fun place for us to rent a cottage sometime. Thinking of you and sending love Janet xxx

      Reply
  8. Jet Eliot

    Your whole life has been an adventure, Janet, and this post says it all. Love the idea of sticking gum in the petrol tank hole, and your adventures to the Isle of Wight of 1965 and today too. I follow Sarah’s post and always enjoy seeing what she is up to, and I know you two are going to have a great adventure. Your paintings, your high spirit, and your fun tales are a joy to read and witness. And I especially love that final painting with the cheerful hummingbirds, which also says it all. Have a grand adventure my friend–

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning dear Jet. I am not back officially yet, but thought I would answer comments today and so always lovely to see you right here. The Isle of Wight was wonderful….like going back thirty years in time. I will write a blog about it soon. Very sadly dear Sarah had to go to the hospital on the day I arrived. I visited her the next day and she was really unwell. This was a week ago yesterday. I have asked to be alerted as to her condition, but have not heard anything yet. I will of course keep people posted as I know more. After the IOW I then went to Wimbourne, Dorset – to stay with my old art school friend…and we had a lovely time. Dorset is one of the most beautiful counties in the UK (also home of my Father’s family) and so we did have a lovely time painting together. Thinking of you and all the hummingbirds, who are now I am sure beginning to head south. Janet 🙂

      Reply
  9. Content Catnip

    I love this memory Janet so beautiful. Yes how the world has changed. You lucky duck living in London during such a fun time and with such a great soundtrack to your young years I wish I was a teen then rather than in the 90s. Can see such joy in this memory thank you for sharing xxx

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning and thank you for this lovely comment. Yes, I was a lucky duck to live in London at that time 🙂 There was such a sense of hope – something which I think is lacking today for so many, especially young people. It is a joyful memory and was my foundation block for life. Hope you have a lovely day -Janet 🙂 xxx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

