Beginning my career as an artist………1974

In 1974, I quickly realised that Chester County was the home of the Brandywine School of art...all very new to me.

Other than the Wyeth family who lived in Chadds Ford (seven miles away) I knew nothing about The Brandywine Tradition.

Andrew Wyeth (1917 – 2009} was one of America’s best known 20th century artists.

Smokehouse, Andrew Wyeth, watercolour.

I wrote on an earlier blog about sitting next to Andrew Wyeth’s famous painting, Christina’s World propped up against a wall at the Coe Kerr Gallery in New York! It was my first introduction to the Wyeths and the Brandywine School of Art.

On that occasion I met Nicholas Wyeth (son of Andrew) (Nicholas well known for his model airplanes displayed at the 21 Club in New York}. Little did I know that shortly after this occasion I would be married to Bill Reed and living in Chester County, smack bang in the middle of it all!

I had been invited to the opening at Coe Kerr Gallery because Freddie Woolworth (the owner) was a Wall Street client. As I write this, and search my memory…..I realise just how many sign posts there were and how important It is to observe and keep note of them.

There was another Wyeth incident which could very well have gone unnoticed.

Jarrod and I were staying with friends in Flat Rock North Carolina. This was when I was still working on Wall Street. My host, was the first person to introduce me to hummingbirds – and at the same time she gave me a beautiful book on the works of Andrew Wyeth! It wasn’t until much later that I realised that this incident was one of many that were sign posting me in a certain direction.

My first hummingbird sighting Flat Rock, North Carolina.

Meeting Anne Buffington and her two daughters at the Westtown School Lake was also important. Anne’s daughter Kendle Buffington and my son Jarrod were only six at the time – eventually to become partners in life.

Anne Buffington introduced me to Chester County artist – Ray DiJohn.….who gave lessons from his studio….I signed up and attended… It was during this time that I fell in love with watercolour.

For those finding their way as artists it’s important to note that I had no interest in being one of the many Brandywine tradition copyists, however Ray taught me watercolour techniques which I still use to this day. Always keep an. open mind.

Anyone who has attended one of my courses will know that I never use black and that Prussian Blue/Burnt Sienna mix is very much part of my box of tricks – something that Ray passed onto me.

Another important person was Dee Stahl... a wonderful woman full of life and interested in everything. She knew someone on the Philadelphia Main Line who had a smart boutique occasionally showing new artists work. I jumped at it.. It gave me a focus.

Given that I had no particular direction at that time, rather just painting anything and everything that interested me…I had turned to one of my great loves…‘animals’ As I would say to students today….they were my ‘jumping off point’.

This leopard in tree…watercolour was typical of the work I was doing at that time.

Then, bingo….I was picked up by Newman Galleries in Philadelphia and invited to have a solo exhibition at The Chester County Arts Association…..where I had hoped to connect with other local artists…..

I will finish this post with a couple of personal photographs from that time.

Bill, Me, Jarrod and two of our dogs, Puppy and Biscuit……before Christie was born…

After Christie was born………….

The most important thing is to practise practise practise and PLAY PLAY PLAY……………..and try to work at the same time each day. Build good habits

and always keep an open mind……

Next post….so many big lessons to be learned…..

30 thoughts on “Beginning my career as an artist………1974

  1. Jet Eliot

    I enjoyed reading about the people and signposts in your early artist life, Janet, all from the retrospective angle. I also liked hearing about your beginnings–focus, animals, watercolor medium…and your first hummingbird. Great words of wisdom here, thank you.

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      As I just said in a previous comment…I have learned that when I go with the flow – things happen in unexpected and interesting ways….when I try to take control..it usually doesn’t work:)
      Of course it’s always important to keep honing skills and keep open to the unexpected:)

      Reply
      1. Timothy Price

        Being flexible and going with the flow has it’s benefits. I’m much the same way. Although, I’m often forced to take control and responsibility because no one else will. I don”t like being the responsible person, but I can’t sit and watch things fall apart.

  2. Kiptoyot

    Janet’s Artistic Journey Dear Janet,

    Thank you for sharing such a fascinating account of your early years as an artist. Your journey, starting from the Coe Kerr Gallery introduction to the world of the Brandwyine School and the Wyeth family, to your personal developments in Chester County, is truly inspiring.

    It’s intriguing to hear about the signposts that subtly guided your path and how those encounters, such as meeting Nicholas Wyeth and being introduced to hummingbirds and Andrew Wyeth’s work in North Carolina, were significant moments in your journey.

    The leap you took into the world of watercolors and the learning experiences with Ray DiJohn that have deeply influenced your artistic techniques signify the importance of embracing opportunities and remaining open to learning.

    Noting your advice to practice, play, and maintain an open mind, I believe your students and fellow artists would greatly benefit from hearing more about these experiences and lessons. Your personal anecdotes, such as the transition to focusing on painting animals and your exhibitions, add a wonderful touch to your narrative.

    I look forward to your next post and learning about the major lessons you’ve garnered throughout your career. If there’s ever an opportunity to view your work, particularly pieces like the leopard in a tree, it would be a pleasure to do so.

    Best regards,

    [Nicholas] [Sales Ass] [Fixed Analytics]

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Good morning NIcholas, Thank you so much for this lovely comment. I really appreciate it.

      Yes the importance of embracing opportunities (often not at all obvious) and remaining open to learning is key to my story and I believe key to enjoying the life of an artist or any other life choice.
      I have learned that when I allow myself to go with the flow….things seem to work out often in ways that I could never have predicted….It has only been when I tried to ‘take control’ that they didn’t!

      I like to post about once a week and so watch this space:). Janet

      Reply
  3. Writing to Freedom

    I agree with Tim. You’ve led a fascinating life Janet. BTW, I love the mountains of North Carolina and almost moved to Black Mountain, in the region of Ashville and Flat Rock. I appreciate that you found your passion and have followed it in a most interesting and organic way!

    Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      I love that you recognise that i have followed life in a very ‘organic’ way – This is true. Anytime I strayed away from this and tried to ‘control situations’ I ran a cropper…..as we say in the UK:).
      I also love that area of the south and at one point considered moving there…..to this day I have good friends in the area….

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Wonderful. When I sat next to Christina’s World on the floor of Coe Kerr Gallery the back story was that Fred’s mother had owned the painting. When her house was burgled, the painting was brought to the Coe Kerr gallery – hence my experience of seeing it in this unusual way. I look forward to hearing your experience of the painting.

      Reply
    1. janetweightreed10 Post author

      Thank you Cindy…..At the beginning of my career I made a. name for myself painting animals in this manner….however my real love is to paint in a much looser style….Enjoy your weekend. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.